Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GNUplot shows nothing in web page

Beans

GNUplot shows nothing in web page

Hi,

I am a newbie to GNUplot. I wrote a script that creates gnuplot graph and store that as html. When I run the script it creats the html page. It works well when I give the location of the html page in the browser "var/www/html/gnuplot.html". But when I call the same html page using the address, "localhost/gnuplot.html" I don't see the graph. When I double click the html page I see the graph. Only when I use the address as "localhost/gnuplot.html", I don't see the graph. Could you please help me solve this issue?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: GNUplot shows nothing in web page

What are the permissions of the file?

Code:
    ls -la /var/www/html/gnu*
    It should be www-data:www-data, otherwise apache2 won't serve it.

Also, http://localhost/html/gnuplot.html might work.

If /var/www/html is indeed your root webserver directory, than you need to change the default in the apache configuration file. /var/www is the default, not /var/www/html.
    Last edited by tgalati4; September 13th, 2013 at 10:11 PM.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

Beans

Thanks for your reply. I changed the user and group to apache as I am using apache server. My problem is I can open a gif file or other file format without any issues. Only when I try to open gnuplot file as html, I get this issue. When I save gnuplot as gif file and open it, it opens fine. Could you please tell me howto call a gnuplot html page from a php?
    Last edited by GNUNewbie; September 16th, 2013 at 08:39 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Why don't you post what is in gnuplot.html? Perhaps it is a malformed file, so apache doesn't know what to do with it.