Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    9

    adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    Is it possible to add to the destop global menu on/off button dropdown menu? The one with system settings, Displays, Startup Applications .... Suspend, Shutdown.

    I would like to add command line/terminal option to this list in the hope I can lanch a command line to do some debugging in the 2 minutes it takes for the untity lancher and desktop icons to appear.

    Richard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Beans
    11,443
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    Two minutes to log in is very strange. Unfortunately I don't know where to begin with helping you to fix it.

    You can't add items to that menu as far as I know, but you might be able to launch a terminal with Control-Alt-T. And you can definitely get to a terminal with Control-Alt-F2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    9

    Re: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    Unfortunately at the time I want to diagnose what's causing the unity launcher to take more than 2 minutes to appear Ctrl-Alt-T is not active. All I can do is switch to a text terminal ctrl-alt-f1. But other things available from the global menu do seem to launch.

    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    Hi Richard,

    I stored the following under ~home/.local/share/appilcations/Utilities.desktop :

    [Desktop Entry]
    Version=1.0
    Type=Application
    Terminal=false
    Exec=
    Name=Utilities
    Icon=/usr/share/icons/Humanity/categories/48/applications-other.svg
    X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Synaptic;UpdateManager;CompizConfig;Htop ;GetUpdates;NautilusActions;GconfEditor;ForceQuit; ScreenShot;SeachFiles

    [Synaptic Shortcut Group]
    Name=Synaptic
    Exec=gksu --description /usr/share/applications/synaptic.desktop /usr/sbin/synaptic
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [UpdateManager Shortcut Group]
    Name=Update Manager
    Exec=/usr/bin/update-manager
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [Htop Shortcut Group]
    Name=Htop
    Exec=htop1
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [GetUpdates Shortcut Group]
    Name=Update Sources
    Exec=getupdate1
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [NautilusActions Shortcut Group]
    Name=Nautilus Actions
    Exec=nautilus-actions-config-tool
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [CompizConfig Shortcut Group]
    Name=Compiz Settings
    Exec=ccsm
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [GconfEditor Shortcut Group]
    Name=Gconf Editor
    Exec=gconf-editor
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [ForceQuit Shortcut Group]
    Name=Force Quit
    Exec=xkill
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [ScreenShot Shortcut Group]
    Name=Screen Shots
    Exec=gnome-screenshot --interactive
    TargetEnvironment=Unity

    [SeachFiles Shortcut Group]
    Name=Search For Files
    Exec=gnome-search-tool
    TargetEnvironment=Unity


    Then I darg and drop the Utilies to the Launcher. It may be required to allow Utilities.desktop to execute. With right mouse click You see the entries.

    Take a look, You can change it to the commands what ever You like.

    Hope this helps and regards Rainer
    Last edited by RainerEL; April 3rd, 2014 at 08:45 AM. Reason: one missing hint sentence

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    9

    Re: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    Thanks, that's a useful technique. For the problem I was referring to it doesn't apply though I've installed this anyway. As I said it's very useful.
    I was wrong when I previously stated that Ctrl-Alt-T didn't work it does. So that fixes my immediate problem. An I suspect the real culprit in making desktop startup very slow is Symantec AV.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    9,826
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: adding to desktop global menu dropdown

    14.04 will include an on/off setting in the configuration editor for the global menu. I sure it won't take long for applications like Unity Tweak to make the setting more accessible. http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2013/11/u...al-menu-switch
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •