Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: No Wifi on Dell Inspiron 1501 after re-install of dual boot Ubuntu 12.04

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

No Wifi on Dell Inspiron 1501 after re-install of dual boot Ubuntu 12.04

I am new to Ubuntu having installed Ubuntu 12.04 dual boot on my Dell Inspiron 1501 a year ago. Had to re-install because dependencies were broken beyond repair. At first install, I was unable to access wireless networks. Was able to restore connection using

Code:
    sudo apt-get purge bcmwl-kernel-source broadcom-sta-common broadcom-sta-source
    and
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall linux-firmware-nonfree
    Tried those commands after re-install and still no wireless connection.

Results of

Code:
    wget -N -t 5 -T 10 http://dl.dropbox.com/u/57264241/wireless_script && chmod +x wireless_script && ./wireless_script
    are attached to this post.

Any help to get me re-connected to my wifi is greatly appreciated
    Attached Files Attached Files

Beans
    Distro

Re: No Wifi on Dell Inspiron 1501 after re-install of dual boot Ubuntu 12.04

I did discover that my Broadcom driver was not activated, however, after selecting 'activate,' about half way through the process of downloading and installing the process killed my LAN connection to my laptop and would not complete.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode5.fw" not found
    There is the whole problem. Please obtain a termporary wired ethernet connection and do:
    Code:
    Please note and post here any errors. Now unload and reload the driver:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r b43 && sudo modprobe b43
    Any improvement?
    Chili's Folly: Intel NUC, i3-4010U, 120 GB SSD, 16 GB RAM, external 500 GB HDD, Ubuntu Saucy; small, silent and fast.

Beans
    Distro

Sorry it has taken so long to respond to this post. Life intervened after the first post and this is the first time I had time to get back to this.

Code: