Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Updating Ubuntu- IBM T40

Beans

Updating Ubuntu- IBM T40

Hello All,

Newbie here for sure - love your forum!

Just installed Ububtu 11 on my IBM T40 - runs very well, but states it is not supported anymore and asks to be updated.
    I am afraid that an update would cripple my T40 which does not have High Memory support (can't remember the term but sounded like PSA - and I know it has nothing to do with the prostate).

Thanks in advance,

Rainer

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Updateing Ubuntu- IBM T40

Open a terminal (Ctrl-Alt-T) and copy and paste this into it
    Code:
    df -lh /
    This will give used and available memory. Post the result for our inspection. My 12.04 LTS takes up only 6.1 GB. You should really be on this version to be assured of support until 2017.
    Last edited by whitesmith; September 2nd, 2013 at 05:55 PM.
    In working with *nix...There be dragons. Newcomers: I recommend reading Linux is Not Windows (http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm) and The Linux Command Line (http://www.linuxcommand.org/tlcl.php) before beginning your quest for a better OS.

Beans

^^^ that's disk space, not memory

rainerfeyer, I guess you are probably referring to PAE <-- lots of info there, including options for lighter weight desktops which may be more suitable for slower machines with lower amounts of RAM (I have an old X30 btw)

Beans

TY Both!

PAE - that's it! I will do some reading at the link you provided - tried an install of U12 first, but system hung repeatedly, so I figured it's not for this T40.

My current status shows: Memory 495.9 Processor Intel Pentium M 1500MHz 32bit, 36 gig disk space

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Exclamation Re: Updating Ubuntu- IBM T40

Quote Originally Posted by rainerfeyer View Post
    Hello All,

Newbie here for sure - love your forum!