Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Grub cluttered

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,198
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Grub cluttered

    There used to be a utility called ubuntu-tweak that did that with a GUI. I think it's still around.
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,739

    Re: Grub cluttered

    This will create a similar custom menu keeping the UUIDs for your devices, which may be preferable. There are reasons for having them.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/CustomMenus

    Involves just copy and paste of the generated entries from grub.cfg to your custom entry file(s) and editing the descriptions. Maintainance free if you follow the last part of that tutorial. You can disable the OS prober as well.

    I used his technique, and create a separate file for each OS entry rather than one file for all. Your choice, of course.

    Good luck.
    Last edited by Dennis N; August 28th, 2013 at 04:35 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Beans
    2,378
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Quote Originally Posted by Quackers View Post
    There used to be a utility called ubuntu-tweak that did that with a GUI. I think it's still around.
    It is, and it has a PPA that cn be added to one's sources.list to get updates.
    --
    Jim Kyle in Oklahoma, USA
    Linux Counter #259718
    Howto mark thread: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UnansweredPo.../SolvedThreads

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    556
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Is it advisable to directly edit the grub file in /boot/grub/ or is it risky

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Beans
    2,378
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Grub cluttered

    You can edit it, but it can be quite risky because any error can make your system unbootable. If that happens, you can recover by using a live CD, but it's a bit complicated.

    If you do want to take the chance, be sure to make a backup copy of the grub.cfg file first, in the same directory, so that you can restore it should that become necessary. Then do your editing, cross your fingers, and hope it works properly.

    If it doesn't, boot with the live CD, come back here, and ask for the instructions on undoing your edit. Good luck!
    --
    Jim Kyle in Oklahoma, USA
    Linux Counter #259718
    Howto mark thread: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UnansweredPo.../SolvedThreads

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Above ground...(for now)
    Beans
    761

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Quote Originally Posted by 3dmatrix View Post
    Is it advisable to directly edit the grub file in /boot/grub/ or is it risky
    It is not advisable.
    It is risky.
    It may also be a really bad idea.

    It is advised to edit the following grub file:
    Code:
    /etc/default/grub
    And then run the following command to have the system change your grub configuration in the files it needs to update:
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    Last edited by Crusty Old Fart; August 28th, 2013 at 10:04 PM.
    Suffering from severe chronic female supervision deficiency syndrome resulting in
    an increasing intolerance of adolescent scatological effluence and PMS induced nefarious diatribe.
    How to: Mark your thread as: [SOLVED]

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    13,616
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Quote Originally Posted by 3dmatrix View Post
    Is it advisable to directly edit the grub file in /boot/grub/ or is it risky
    No it is not advisable.
    The main reason, aside from possibly borking it, is that it will be overwritten the next time grub is updated.
    Which usually happens every time a new kernel version is installed.

    As advised earlier, just make a custom grub menu.
    Follow the tut
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ma...tomGrub2Screen
    and probably read through any problems others have come across
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2076205

    It's actually a lot easier than it seems.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Quote Originally Posted by 3dmatrix View Post
    Is it advisable to directly edit the grub file in /boot/grub/ or is it risky
    The grub purest can and have told you not to edit grub.cfg, but since you brought up the subject, that's the only way I do it.
    And have done it that way for years.

    Depending on your experience, any so called "borking" is easily fixed.

    For one thing, I keep several copies of my grub.cfg at hand, and my partition tables never change. If they did I would re-create the file.
    Even if grub gets updated with a new kernel or program update, and a new grub.cfg gets inserted, I just go behind it back and copy mine in its place.

    This is so easy and what's displayed - menuing, colors, etc. , I control. You just have to maintain your UUID's. Here's my grub.cfg jus so you know:

    Code:
        default=0
        timeout=11
        menu_color_normal=white/blue
        menu_color_highlight=light-cyan/cyan
    
    menuentry "Windows" {
            insmod part_msdos
            insmod ntfs
            set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 3464AFFC64AFBF4C
            chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry "KDE" {
            insmod part_msdos
            insmod ext2
            set root='(hd0,msdos6)'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 333ea2a9-69c1-4f60-a39c-acfee7fc46ee
            linux /vmlinuz root=UUID=333ea2a9-69c1-4f60-a39c-acfee7fc46ee ro modeset=0 splash quiet
            initrd /initrd.img
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ee55c25c-fff8-4b60-8ff4-be9748d7eedc
        linux /vmlinuz root=UUID=ee55c25c-fff8-4b60-8ff4-be9748d7eedc ro quiet splash
        initrd /initrd.img
    }
    submenu Loop-Backs-ISO {
        default=0
        timeout=11
        menu_color_normal=white/black
        menu_color_highlight=black/white
        
      menuentry "ISO" {
        set root='(hd1,msdos1)'
        set isofile="/ISO/kde-saucy-desktop-amd64.iso"
        loopback loop (hd1,msdos1)$isofile
        linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz.efi boot=casper maybe-ubiquity iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject
        initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
      }
      menuentry 'Ubuntu (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='(hd0,msdos7)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root ee55c25c-fff8-4b60-8ff4-be9748d7eedc
        echo 'Loading Linux 3.5.0-38-generic ...'
        linux /vmlinuz root=UUID=ee55c25c-fff8-4b60-8ff4-be9748d7eedc ro recovery nomodeset 
        echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
        initrd /initrd.img
      }
      menuentry "Clonezilla" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        gfxpayload=1024x768x16,1024x768
        set root='(hd1,msdos1)'
        linux /boot/vmlinuz boot=live live-config noswap nolocales edd=on nomodeset ocs_live_run=\"ocs-live-general\" ocs_live_extra_param=\"\" ocs_live_keymap=\"NONE\" ocs_live_batch=\"no\" ocs_lang=\"en_US.UTF-8\" ip=frommedia nosplash live-media-path=/boot bootfrom=/dev/sdb toram=filesystem.squashfs
        initrd /boot/initrd.img
      }
      menuentry "PartedMagic" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        gfxpayload=1024x768x16,1024x768
        set root='(hd1,msdos1)'
        linux /boot/pmagic/bzImage64 root=/dev/sdb directory=boot edd=off load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw loglevel=9 max_loop=256 vmalloc=288MiB
        initrd /boot/pmagic/initrd.img
       }
      menuentry 'Parted Magic' {
        set root=(hd1,1)
        linux /boot/pmagic/bzImage64 root=/dev/sdb directory=boot edd=on
        initrd /boot/pmagic/initrd.img
      }
    }
    This menu has white on blue text on first page and white on black for the submenu second "ISO" page.
    When grub2 first came out, I too use to stick with scripts, but soon realized, I can control it better myself - and do.
    There's always an alternative...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Beans
    2,378
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Grub cluttered

    I agree that it's not advisable, but it is possible.

    The simplest way to achieve your goal is to use grub-customizer, which is a GUI that does the editing for you in the correct way. See the how-to at http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-to-ins...ntu-13-04.html for details.
    --
    Jim Kyle in Oklahoma, USA
    Linux Counter #259718
    Howto mark thread: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UnansweredPo.../SolvedThreads

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Land of fire and drought
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Grub cluttered

    Sheesh, what's the matter with Grub Customizer???

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=10340183

    Works fine for me making the Grub look how I like. Think you can delete through it also (not in Ubuntu so can't look right now).

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •