Thread: Need help with nvidia drivers on 13.04 64bit

Beans

Need help with nvidia drivers on 13.04 64bit

I am new to ubuntu and having a hard time installing drivers for my GTX 660. With the video card installed i get a black screen followed by my display going to sleep. For now i am using the on board video to get around. When downloading from nvidia's site i get an error after the driver is downloaded. If someone could please help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    Last edited by velocityskater17; August 23rd, 2013 at 02:37 PM.

Beans

Re: Need help with nvidia drivers on 13.04 64bit

Hi,

I would avoid downloading from the nVidia site. There are genuine nVidia drivers available within the Ubuntu software sources, already compiled and ready to install. Since you say you're new to Ubuntu, I'll give you the path to follow, apologies in advance if you already knew or have tried some of this.

Go into the Ubuntu Software Center, and in the search-box at the top-right, enter "Synaptic" (no quotes, of course). This will bring up a package called "Synaptic Package Manager" -- which is a better tool than the "software center" for managing the installation and removal of software on your system.

Once that's installed, go to your dashboard and enter "synaptic" and it should bring up the Synaptic Package Manager that was just installed on your system. Run it, you'll be prompted for your password,click on the search button, and enter nvidia in the search box that pops up. You'll get a list of packages (not all drivers) related to nVidia.

I'm running with a GeForce GT 640, I've selected the package "nvidia-310-updates" from the list (scroll down a bit, you should see it). Click on the check-box to the left of the package name, and select "mark for installation" -- you'll get a message listing a few other packages that must be installed, one of them being the nVidia Settings manager for this specific driver version.