Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: switch between desktop environments

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Suceava, Romania
    Beans
    265
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Question switch between desktop environments

    How do I switch between desktop environments?
    For example between Unity, Gnome, KDE, XFCE, or LXDE?
    Of course, i know i must install the environments i wnat to chose between.
    And after install them, what do I do?
    The Odor
    I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending small a degree of it. -- Thomas Jefferson
    Put the fun back into computing. Use Linux, BSD.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    /dev/root
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: switch between desktop environments

    You will be able to select 'session' alias desktop environment at the log in screen. It looks a bit different depending on which log in screen (greeter) that you are using. In some it is easy to find where to do it. In the Ubuntu (Unity?) log in screen, you click on the round Ubuntu symbol according to the attached file.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    5,003

    Re: switch between desktop environments

    There are also two methods of installing extra desktops. Some will suggest installing a complete desktop. example:

    Xubuntu
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xubuntu-desktop
    For Xubuntu I prefer to:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xfce4 xfce4-goodies
    Same for Lubuntu
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lubuntu-desktop
    vs

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install lxde


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Michigan USA
    Beans
    1,780
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: switch between desktop environments

    realize you must turn off autologin or it won't give a choice of which to login to

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,374
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: switch between desktop environments

    Log out/in will be required to switch desktop environments , there is no way to switch between them otherwise.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    35

    Re: switch between desktop environments

    as stated.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •