Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    No boot

    I cant get ubuntu-13.04-desktop-amd64 to boot.
    It runs well from usb and installs with no problems.
    I tried on single disk and multiple disk.


    Tried Boot-Repair and it seemed to work but the result are still the same.

    The url I got was http://paste.ubuntu.com/6003862

    I have motherboard X58A-UDR3 from GIGABYTE ant intel i7 12 GB ram.

    Wath to do ??

    Valle.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No boot

    When you say it does not boot do you just get black screen? With one install you do not get grub menu normally as it knows what you want to boot. If you hold shift from BIOS do you get grub menu.
    Some with newer UEFI based motherboard have found escape works instead of shift?

    What video card/chip are you using?
    How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2 - both liveCD & first boot, but different
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions
    Info on other boot parameters
    http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentat...parameters.txt
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: No boot

    Tanks for helping.
    Grub 2 booting fine from sdc1.
    Selecting Ubuntu (normal boot) and just got an empty screen.
    When I start in safe mode it ends up with kernel panic. It seems like it newer mounts sdc1 and cant load /boot/grub/i386-pc/core.img
    Problem are it crashes before it could write any logs..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: No boot

    When booting in recovery mode it puts out a lot of text and when it stops I could see one big problem..

    mount: mounting /dev/sdc1 on /root faild

    (the cernal panic was not correct above)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No boot

    You could try fsck, or just a re-install.

    #From liveCD so everything is unmounted,swap off if necessary, change example shown with partition sdc1 to your partition(s)
    #e2fsck is used to check the ext2/ext3/ext4 family of file systems. -p trys fixes where response not required
    sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sdc1
    #if errors: -y auto answers yes for fixes needing response, also see man e2fsck
    sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sdc1
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: No boot

    Thanks for helpin olfred.
    When using liveCD there are no problem mount the disk.
    Also run the e2fsck without problems. I tried to install several times on different drives. Unconnected so theres only one disk and always the same result.
    I installed lubuntu 32 bit version and that works directly.
    Here are the screen after tryning to boot in recovery mode: https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.n...95976417_o.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No boot

    I now notice you used ext2 for root. I would try ext4.

    Also some BIOS have issues with very large / (root) partitions. Either a separate /boot or make a 25GB / and make rest of drive /home.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: No boot

    Finally its booting I read this post http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1373394 and found meierfra. saying:
    Grub always considers the boot drive as "(hd0)". So the correct entry for root will always be:
    set root=(hd0,1)
    And change the load of vmlinuz to use UUID to use the correct disk
    linux /vmlinuz root=UUID=fd0c6442-dc3d-49ba-8e46-91657460fe52

    So by by pressing e in grub menu I could edit these rows:
    set root='hd2,msdos1'
    if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd2,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd2,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci2,msdos1 8eacbd4f-d612-4ece-b417-4417fbb63fc2
    else
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 8eacbd4f-d612-4ece-b417-4417fbb63fc2
    fi
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-generic root=/dev/sdc1 ro persistent quiet splash $vt_handoff

    to
    set root='hd0,msdos1'
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-generic root=UUID=8eacbd4f-d612-4ece-b417-4417fbb63fc2 ro persistent quiet splash $vt_handoff

    Press F10 and its boots like a dream (very fast also with the SSD disk)

    What is this mess?? Why isn't UUID used every where ?? I spend lots of hours on this silly problem...

    But now the mouse and network does not work.. But I hope to solve this, now there should be logfiles to check... (But ubuntu isn't where easy to handle without the mouse)

    Last edited by Valdemar_Karlsson; August 21st, 2013 at 06:56 PM. Reason: one line breake was missing...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: No boot

    IF a thread from meirerfia. it is old, but still useful.
    But the search by UUID is supposed to override the set root. Or in your case the search must not have been working?
    I have had similar issues with installs to flash drives where order changes a lot, but with 4 hard drives I have not had that issue, but I normally install grub2's boot loader to the MBR of the same drive I boot from for reliability. Then only that drive has to work to boot. But then my settings are always hd0.

    I normally boot 12.04, but my Raring install does use UUID in the linux line by default, but it has been updated a couple of times. But I cannot use any device settings as I skipped a port in motherboard. Sometimes flash drive is sde and on reboot it becomes sdb renumbering all my other higher letter drive that I use more.
    Last edited by oldfred; August 21st, 2013 at 07:09 PM.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: No boot

    And from terminal I just run:
    sudo update-grub

    and grub.cfg file was updated correctly and now its boots ok...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •