Thread: [Ubuntu 13.04 Desktop] Virtual box causing system crash

Beans

[Ubuntu 13.04 Desktop] Virtual box causing system crash

Hello,

I'm new to the linux world, but I've done a lot of work on HW in windows. We are trying to run traffic through a switch, but only want to use 1 machine (a Dell R710). I had been using iperf (and jperf) on Windows to do it, but wanted to switch over to Linux for stability.

So I've installed and gotten jperf to work between two 13.04 systems, so I wanted to move to 1 system with both the host and guest running jperf. My host system is an R710 with 24GB of RAM, 2 processors (16 cores each) and a 100+ GB HDD. I've got a base 13.04 64-bit desktop installation with the addition of openjava 7 runtime and virtualbox installed through the package manager. I used the terminal to install iperf, and put a folder with the jperf on the desktop. Nothing else. I've run jperf in this configuration (minus the virtualbox) for several weeks and not had any problems.

I created a virtual machine through virtual box and allocated 4GB of memory, 12GB of fixed HDD space and 4 processors. I've also enabled the "Use host I/O cache" option under the disk controller because I had problems doing a previous install on a different system without it. The network is a bridged adapter to eth3 which has internet access. The installer starts to download language packs to the virtual machine and it just freezes. Not just the virtual machine but the entire virtualbox program. Restarting the host and then the VM causes the VM to want to re-install and re-installation causes the same issue. I have deleted the virtual drive and retryed, but that didn't help either.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
    Simon

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: [Ubuntu 13.04 Desktop] Virtual box causing system crash

If stability is your main goal, then use Ubuntu 12.04 Server and don't use GUIs.