Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to add a reload button in filebrowser

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    How to add a reload button in filebrowser

    If it is dark in the room, it can be hard to find F5 button, to reload nautilus. I wonder if i can get a reload button in nautilus and also if i can change the back and forward arrow the the left side WHITOUT compiling nautilus! Using 12.04LTS

    /Cheers

    Is this the only way????? https://launchpad.net/nautiluspatchtogglelocationbar
    Last edited by Azyx; September 25th, 2013 at 02:50 PM.
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add a reload button in filwbrowser

    Now an upgrade removed nautiluspatch_v3.4.2-0ubuntu8-1_amd64. This also happen when i compilde a nautilus package, to get back the navigation-arrows (As in 10.04LTS) from right to left side . Gonne get 'repetitive strain injuries' in my thumb
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,059

    Re: How to add a reload button in filwbrowser

    Quote Originally Posted by Azyx View Post
    Now an upgrade removed nautiluspatch_v3.4.2-0ubuntu8-1_amd64. This also happen when i compilde a nautilus package, to get back the navigation-arrows (As in 10.04LTS) from right to left side . Gonne get 'repetitive strain injuries' in my thumb
    If you want to move the nav buttons to left that has to been done in source, specifically in regards to the kirby33 patches in
    nautilus/src/nautilus-toolbar.c as below

    Code:
    @@ -127,7 +164,7 @@ nautilus_toolbar_constructed (GObject *o
     	item = gtk_tool_item_new ();
     	gtk_tool_item_set_expand (item, TRUE);
     	gtk_container_add (GTK_CONTAINER (item), hbox);
    -	gtk_toolbar_insert (GTK_TOOLBAR (self->priv->toolbar), item, 0);
    +	gtk_toolbar_insert (GTK_TOOLBAR (self->priv->toolbar), item, 3);
     	gtk_widget_show (GTK_WIDGET (item));
     
     	/* search bar */
    The item number used (3 above) determines the number of 'icons' to the left of the location, placed in order listed in nautilus-navigation-action.h.
    So 3 would put the nav. buttons to the left, the rest to the right

    Is that what you had in mind?
    (personally would build as a debian package set instead of the 'all-in-one' package as kirby 33 did. I could create a ppa with the kirby33 mods & nav to left in a few min or so if desired...
    Last edited by mc4man; September 27th, 2013 at 04:09 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add a reload button in filwbrowser

    It was an association I made in that booth 'tweaks' suddenly just disappear...The last one just after a day.

    The deb-patch above give an extra tab, in Preferences for the File browser called Toolbar, there you can add other 'buttons' than back, forward and search in Nautilus. But it disappear after todays update Tried to reinstall, but it was dependency problem. Would bee nice if there was an ppa for this kind of patches...

    It was a about a year ago, I downloaded the source-code and change it, but that also disappear after an update soon after. I think it bad that Ubuntu and Unity have so little possibility to change appearance and stuff. Soon as bad as Windows and OS-X...
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,059

    Re: How to add a reload button in filebrowser

    Ck this ppa in about 6 hrs for the kirby33 patched nautilus with the nav buttons on the left
    ( 6 hrs should be enough time for both i386 & amd64 packages to build, publish & let me ck. them out, don't try to upgrade before both archs are published if on an amd64 (64 bit) install

    https://launchpad.net/~mc3man/+archive/naut-mods

    before using get rid of any self built or kirby33 package, eg. get on the official precise version packages (if not already

    Edit:7 hrs may be more likely
    Last edited by mc4man; September 27th, 2013 at 05:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add a reload button in filebrowser

    Great!! I now uninstall nautilus-patch_v3.4.2-0ubuntu8-1_amd64 (Nautilus patch) and wait.
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add a reload button in filebrowser

    By the way..
    For approx a year ago I make an modification according to point 12 on my other Computer.

    http://www.noobslab.com/2012/04/impo...nstall_26.html

    But this suddenly stop working, after an upgrade I think. Do I need to get rid of this, or did the nautilus-mod disappear, when the arrows move over to the right-side?
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sweden, Uppsala
    Beans
    867
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to add a reload button in filebrowser

    Worked Great!!! Thank you very much mc4man!!!
    /Azyx

    Ubuntu 12.04LTS 64bit, 13.10 Lubuntu 32-bit on eeePCs and OSX on a G4 800MHz iMac (iLamp). I think I have an W7 on one of my Virtualbox machine under 12.04LTS?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •