Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Css3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4

    Unhappy Css3?

    Hello my name is Brooks and I am currently aiming to create my own website through Html5, CSS3, and Javascript. However I didn't get very far before I hit a roadblock. While using Bluefish IDE it gives auto-complete options. When trying to resize my backround I decided to use "background-size" from CSS3. But it didn't give me the auto-complete option. I typed it in anyway and ran the program in firefox (Latest Version) but it didn't resize. Please help.

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html>
     <head>
      <title>BnJ's Personal Pc's-Colorado's Choice Custom Computers</title>
      <meta charset="utf-8">
      <meta name="description" content="BnJ's Personal Pc's finally gives the average Joe the infomation they needed to buy their very own
       computer. Making personal computers personal.">
      <style>
      h1{
      text-align:center;
      color:gray;
      padding-bottom:.5cm;}
      body {
        background-image:url(Sources/HPbackground.jpeg);
      }
      p{
      font-family:"Tlwg Typo";
      font-size:25px;
      text-align:left;
      }
      .titleB{
      background-color:greenyellow;
      background-size:3cm 2cm;<-There
      border: 5px solid darkgray;
      
      }
      
      </style>
      </head>
    
     <body>
     
     <div class="titleB">
       
       <h1>Welcome To BnJ's Personal Pc's!</h1>
       </div>
       
     <p>Get started below.</p>
    
     </body>
    Thanks,
    Brooks Rady
    Last edited by catlover48856; August 3rd, 2013 at 02:55 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,341
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Css3?

    probably cause your background is a color not a image is why it is not working
    if you really need to resize a background color use a css gradient from and to the same color
    also you should have <-there in a comment like this /* <- There */
    Last edited by pqwoerituytrueiwoq; August 3rd, 2013 at 03:01 AM.
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4

    Re: Css3?

    Is there any other way to create a box around text then?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,341
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Css3?

    you mean a border? around a element that contains text?
    Code:
    <span style="border: 5px solid blue;border-radius:3px">Hello World</span>
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4

    Re: Css3?

    Closer... but I need to fill that box so I can see the text aginst the background. So it stands out.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,341
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Css3?

    apply a background color then or go fancy with a text shadow
    you can use the background color of rgba(0,0,0,.65)
    *IE9 and below do not support text shadow
    *IE8 and below do not support rgba, a workaround is a small png background of a rgba color

    if you can give me a drawing or a edited screen-shot of what you want i can give you css to do it
    Last edited by pqwoerituytrueiwoq; August 3rd, 2013 at 04:37 AM.
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4

    Re: Css3?

    Here Is a pic. Once you see the background you'll know why I need box.Screenshot from 2013-08-03 12:11:48.jpg

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,341
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Css3?

    You know there is a easier way right
    http://pastebin.com/KADV9jYP
    here is a sample html file you can work with
    enjoy the fabulous background image
    Last edited by pqwoerituytrueiwoq; August 4th, 2013 at 02:41 AM.
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •