Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wired connection makes wifi fail

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Wired connection makes wifi fail

    I get to the internet via wifi. I share it with my neighbour (his idea). I'm trying to install LAMP and have a server for my .com. I'm trying to get MythTV to work.

    I have set a static IP address using NM

    mark@Lexington:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:06:56:14
    inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::4261:86ff:fe06:5614/64 Scope:Link


    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 90:f6:52:0c:2d:a4
    inet addr:192.168.1.73 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

    when the eth0 is connected, I have no internet access. What do I have to do to not lose internet access? Does the WiFi have to drive through the router? How do I do this? Please point me towards a Tutorial or How-To.

    By the bye: As I write this, the eth0 is disconnected.
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Wired connection makes wifi fail

    Please show the outputs of:
    Code:
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    lsusb
    lsmod
    ifconfig -a
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    route -n

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wired connection makes wifi fail

    Here is the ubuntu pastebin of those terminal responses:


    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5941173/
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Wired connection makes wifi fail

    Check the IP addresses, other subsystems:

    Code:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:06:56:14
    inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 90:f6:52:0c:2d:a4
    inet addr:192.168.1.73 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    Sure this is right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wired connection makes wifi fail

    It is the info in the "Connection Information" of the panel's Connection Manager. I've attached screenshots of the two (eth0 and wlan0) devices.

    I'm trying to clarify here. I have access to the internet via wifi. It's a uverse motorola ATT modem. I have a wifi router connected to the ethernet port of my computer. I want to use this router connected to the computer's ethernet port to send the MythTV signal to a "smart" tv's ethernet port. It is not for internet access, except as a way to pass through the 'net to the "smart" tv.

    But one thing at a time, first.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; August 3rd, 2013 at 01:13 AM. Reason: missed a spot
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wired connection makes wifi fail

    Following this post:


    http://www.sudo-juice.com/how-to-a-s...-ip-in-ubuntu/

    I am able to have some ethernet-working and wifi connectivity for internet access, simultaneously.

    I can see the following by changing the last octet's digit or digits: example: 192.168.0.1 or 2 or 268 or 10

    I can see the control panel pages for

    My ISP's modem

    My wifi router connected via an ethernet cable

    and

    SiliconDust's tv tuner

    whether I can send the TV signal out from the MythTV through the ethernet cable to the TV's ethernet port remains to be solved.
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •