Thread: Problem Loading DVD Movie Program

Beans

Post Problem Loading DVD Movie Program

While trying to install software through Terminal that would allow me to play commercial DVD movies on Ubuntu 13.04, I encountered a problem that froze my system. I found the command: sudo apt-get jnstall ubuntu-restricted-extras on the Liberian Geek website. Canonical made the code available. When I executed the command the program downloaded most of the codes. However when it reached a certain point it showed: Configuring ttf-mscorefonts-installer with the MS EULA text and an <OK> symbol that is inactive and froze. When I close the Terminal and then reopen it to enter any code, it will not allow me to enter my password but advises that I must enter the code 'sudo dpkg --configure -a' that brings up the ELUA text again in the Terminal window. I need help to allow the program to continue or terminate the process. Any help will be greatly appreciate since I am a total novice with Ubuntu /Linux code.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Problem Loading DVD Movie Program

I don't load anything but VLC. It plays everything - music, video, you name it. No more mucking around with all that restricted nonsense.

Just in case you need further assistance you can check out the Comprehensive Multimedia section.
    Last edited by VMC; August 2nd, 2013 at 03:02 AM.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

VLC is a great program, but it's not very useful without audio or video codecs.

The terminal didn't "freeze" when configuring ttf-mscorefonts-installer. It needed you to agree to the EULA for the MS fonts before downloading and installing them from Microsoft's website. (Of course, you could opt out of these fonts by not agreeing to the EULA and everything else in Restricted Extras would install just fine, but it was waiting for some response from you.)