Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    76

    Red face Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    My DELL laptop having 500 GB hard-disk, I plan to install dual OS in it, So I re-size the disk using Gparted and my primary OS is Ubuntu 12.10. While resizing my disk, its displays an error only four primary partition u can partition size. Please find the below for screen shot of my partition details.





    In additionally one partition with 8GB of Linux swap is already i deleted accidentally so the disk is now possibly to re-sized for creating a sda4 for another OS. Now when i boot my primary OS UBUNTU i am facing a small error that "Uaaa-ssdds-------" is missing wait for mounting automatically or S for Skip or M for manually mounting.

    How to solve this problem I i need to recreate a Linux Swap.





  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Alternia
    Beans
    140
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    How much ram does your computer have? If it's 4GB or more, swap is meaningless as there is enough ram to run Linux with no problems. If so, just push s to skip mounting swap. BUT... If you have less than 4GB, tell us here and we can try to remedy the situation.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    Why didn't create an extended partition for Linux, Swap?

    You could create an extended partition at the end (7.4gb),and put a swap partition inside there.

    Here's a picture of mine as an example. I have Windows 7, an NTFS partition, several Ext4's and a Swap inside the Extended partition:

    Last edited by VMC; July 31st, 2013 at 02:47 AM.
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    76

    Lightbulb Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    Quote Originally Posted by kitsuneinari78 View Post
    How much ram does your computer have? If it's 4GB or more, swap is meaningless as there is enough ram to run Linux with no problems. If so, just push s to skip mounting swap. BUT... If you have less than 4GB, tell us here and we can try to remedy the situation.
    I am using 4GB RAM, But I need the solution for this, my friend also having same ubuntu but differ in RAM, Please suggest so that I can help him.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    I think that you don't need more than 4 Gb RAM. Don't worry about your swap partition deleted. For your friend, the same thing. If he has less than 4GB you should create a partition swap.

    PS: I'm french so my English is a little bit.... catastrophical

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,069

    Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    Create an extended partition with the free space at the end of your disk, and then you can make a swap partition.
    Your friend can make an extended partition too..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    76

    Red face Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    Quote Originally Posted by frankblero View Post
    I think that you don't need more than 4 Gb RAM. Don't worry about your swap partition deleted. For your friend, the same thing. If he has less than 4GB you should create a partition swap.

    PS: I'm french so my English is a little bit.... catastrophical
    Thanks friend

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    76

    Red face Re: Linux Swap is really needed? Accidentally Deleted

    Quote Originally Posted by Temüjin View Post
    Create an extended partition with the free space at the end of your disk, and then you can make a swap partition.
    Your friend can make an extended partition too..
    As u said I recommend my friend to create extended partition.
    Thanks for your help

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •