Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Can anyone convince me to use docky

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,095
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    State_of_The_Art 2004, baby!
    better than my ancient iron sitting on the self
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...e=bph05264#N46
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,800
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by pqwoerituytrueiwoq View Post
    better than my ancient iron sitting on the self
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...e=bph05264#N46
    Whoa! My CPU is a rare collector's item now... LoL!

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...&condition=all
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    9,795
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    I use Dockbarx with the XFCE session and don't have the problems listed in your first post .
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    The Wilds of Oregon
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    You can get rid of the Anchor Icon / Settings Launcher with Gconf-Editor... Install it and go to apps/docky2/items/docky item and uncheck the box that says 'show docky item'... Or at least you can in 12.04, don't know if same option is available later.

    I used Docky for a long time, but in the end I had to admit to myself that I just used a dock for the big, pretty icons.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,095
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Whoa! My CPU is a rare collector's item now... LoL!

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...&condition=all
    My CPU just started going up in value (it is the high end for the AM3 socket)
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,095
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by Frogs Hair View Post
    I use Dockbarx with the XFCE session and don't have the problems listed in your first post .
    how does it compare with cario dock, so far i like that one, reminds me of compiz, back when it was not broken as [insert game reference of your choosing]
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York, NY
    Beans
    1,080
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Hey...why not just use regular ubuntu with unity (since your hardware can certainly handle it)...unity IS a dock you know and works better then docky and cairo dock anyway....
    ok...true, it's on the left instead of the bottom...but i am sure you will get use to it pretty quickly

    Or just think of the unity dock as a vertical taskbar cause actually it is kind of that too

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,095
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by craig10x View Post
    Hey...why not just use regular ubuntu with unity (since your hardware can certainly handle it)...unity IS a dock you know and works better then docky and cairo dock anyway....
    ok...true, it's on the left instead of the bottom...but i am sure you will get use to it pretty quickly

    Or just think of the unity dock as a vertical taskbar cause actually it is kind of that too
    lacks the options i have in xubuntu panels, i wanted to have my bottom and top panels + the unity like dock with a few common apps in it
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York, NY
    Beans
    1,080
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Got you...I'm a one panel guy myself...actually, i usually only like my 1 panel on bottom (like on linux mint)...only reason i don't mind it being on top in the unity set-up is because of the global menu, so when my browser is open, i don't lose any space...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,095
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can anyone convince me to use docky

    Quote Originally Posted by craig10x View Post
    Got you...I'm a one panel guy myself...actually, i usually only like my 1 panel on bottom (like on linux mint)...only reason i don't mind it being on top in the unity set-up is because of the global menu, so when my browser is open, i don't lose any space...
    on my desktop with 1920x1080 i can afford the extra 24px on a top an bottom panel, I may replace the bottom panel on my laptop with cairo dock where the screen resolution is 1366x768
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •