Thread: SOLVED Thanks user name & password apt

Beans

SOLVED Thanks user name & password apt

In windows I have been using a free apt called roboform. Everytime I use a web site its added to my roboform profile and includes my user name and password for each website. visited.

I use robo form as my home page where it displays all the websites i use frequently. I click on the required website and I m able to enter immediately as the username and password have already been input by roboform.
    I can also enter particular pages on websites. For example Absolute beginners section on the Ubuntu forums.

Has Ubuntu got anything similar to this please. Having used Roboform for some time and never needed to think about user names or passwords, I have forgotten a lot of them now. I have looked in the software centre, and im not very good at guessing the names they would show under, so the ones i have tried appear to just hold the passwords.

Thanks
    Last edited by arranskye; July 18th, 2013 at 12:37 AM. Reason: resolved

dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: user name & password apt

i does not know how that roboform deal with security; but im translating it like : "open door" welcome page for all that want to glance/rob your browsing settings and private data. Quite scary to me.

http://aahank.com/2013/install-keepass-on-ubuntu/

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

@arranskye,

Have you seen THIS page ?
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by arranskye View Post
    Has Ubuntu got anything similar to this please.
    Firefox has similar functionality. It can store web site usernames/passwords, and its history auto-completion and bookmarks are helpful in accessing sites that you visit frequently.

As noted above, storing usernames/passwords is a tradeoff of convenience vs. security.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro