Thread: Accessing file server from outside of my home network.

Beans

Accessing file server from outside of my home network.

I have a samba file server that I set up at my house. I am able to access it from my internal network, and it works fine. I have ports 139 and 445 forwarding to my server, and everything has a static ip address. I am using the newest version of lubuntu, and I am also using webmin to manage my server because it's easier than the actual lubuntu UI. I need to be able to access this file server from outside my network; from anywhere over the internet. I do not want it password protected, (It wouldn't be a problem if it has to be) and I want anyone anywhere to be able to access it. I am not very experienced in linux at all. I managed to set up the samba server using webmin and lots and lots of forums, but now I'm stuck.

Any ideas on how I could get it working, or any alternatives that would achieve the same desired result?

(Edit: I am at work right now, so I will reply later.)
    Last edited by TheInfamousAlk; July 16th, 2013 at 06:04 PM.

Beans

Re: I need help accessing my file server from outside of my home network.

FTP is easy for anonymous downloads: https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/server...tp-server.html

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

Forget samba over the Internet. It's way too insecure.

Install openssh-server on your server, then forward some arbitrary high port (>1023) on your router back to port 22 (SSH) on your server. Suppose the port is 22222. Now you have a number of options available to you.

On Windows machines, use WinSCP.