Thread: Please help with Secure Copy

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Please help with Secure Copy

I'm trying to copy a file using secure copy and I can't find a way to make it work.

I used SSH to connect to remote host and tried to push file to local client and also tried to pull file from local client. Neither way is working. I either get unable to resolve host message, cannot stat file, or connection time out. The name of the file is config.sys and I am using the following format:

scp config.sys jaraxle@localhost:/home/jaraxle/config.sys

I have also tried to copy file into root directory:

scp config.sys root@localhost:~/

Neither way is working. This is my first time using scp but the instructions seem clear and I don't see what I'm doing wrong.
    Last edited by Jaraxle; July 13th, 2013 at 03:51 AM.

Beans

Re: Please help with Secure Copy

Is the config.sys file in the directory that you're executing the scp command from? If not, you need to give the path to the file as well as a path to the destination (which must be writeable) i.e. from a shell the local machine (NOT ssh'd into the remote machine - scp does that part for you)

Code:
    scp /path/to/config.sys jaraxle@192.168.1.16:/home/jaraxle/config.sys
    where in this case 192.168.1.16 is the IP of the destination machine - you can use a hostname provided it is resolvable

Beans
    Distro

Forgot to mention that config.sys is in the directory I'm executing scp command from. However, I was trying to push from remote server to client. Using your advice, I'm now executing command from local machine. The file is in the root directory of remote server so I am trying using the following format:

scp ~/config.sys jaraxle@192.168.1.16:/home/jaraxle/config.sys

Host name is not resovable so I am using ip (had tried both before) but getting connection refused on port 22.