Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: BIND9 DNS doesnt work externally?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    23

    BIND9 DNS doesnt work externally?

    I have BIND9 installed on an ubuntu distro, I have configured it and created forward/reverse zones etc. Currently I can run the command nslookup on my hostname, domain name, mail server, ftp etc. and all of it gets resolved (mail.domainname.com, ftp.domainname.com etc). However if I go to one of my other computers (windows server) on the network it can ping the hostname and it sends connections however it cant do nslookup the hostname or domainname. I DO NOT have the domain name purchased and registered with my ISP yet, is this why it doesnt work externally? Do I by any chance need to make something like an A record for the external IP address on the zone files?

    Here are my zone files for you guys, I replaced my actual domain with domain/domainname the same goes for my hostname, I replaced it with hostname.

    Forward Zone
    Code:
    $ORIGIN domain.com.
    $TTL 86400
    @    IN    SOA    dns1.domain.com. hostmaster.domain.com. (
        2013071101 ;serial
        21600        ;refresh after 6 hours
        3600       ;retry after 1 hour
        604800     ;expire after1 week
        86400 )    ;minimum TTL 1 day
    
        IN    NS     dns1.domain.com.
        
        IN    MX    10    mail.domain.com.
    
        IN    A    192.168.12.137
    
    dns1    IN    A    192.168.12.137
    
    hostname    IN    A    192.168.12.137
    
    ftp    IN    A    192.168.12.137
    
    mail    IN    CNAME    hostname
    
    www    IN    CNAME    hostname
    Reverse Zone
    Code:
    $ORIGIN 12.168.192.in-addr.arpa.
    $TTL 86400
    @    INandre-server    SOA    dns1.domain.com. hostmaster.domain.com. (
        2013071101 ;serial
        21600       ;refresh after 6 hours
        3600       ;retry after 1 hour
        604800     ;expire after1 week
        86400 )    ;minimum TTL 1 day
    
    @    IN    NS     hostname.domain.com.
        
    1    IN    PTR    hostname.domain.com.
    
    2    IN    PTR    hostname.domain.com.
    
    3    IN    PTR    hostname.domain.com.
    
    4    IN    PTR    hostname.domain.com.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    416

    Re: BIND9 DNS doesnt work externally?

    Yes, you will need to purchase a domain name first before your domain can resolve externally.
    Last edited by newbie-user; July 12th, 2013 at 08:01 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    23

    Re: BIND9 DNS doesnt work externally?

    Alright sweet that's fine, so I DONT need to add some type of record for my external IP or do I need to do that too?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    416

    Re: BIND9 DNS doesnt work externally?

    If you are hosting services from your external IP, you do need some A records pointing to your external IP so that those services can be resolved externally. Even if you aren't hosting services from your external IP, you would still need some records pointing to wherever those services are located.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •