Thread: Encrypted home folder

Beans

Unhappy Encrypted home folder

Hello. I'm wondering if anybody could give me some guidance in this. When I first installed Kubuntu, I ticked the ''Encrypted home folder'' option. After noticing some issues I couldn't get past, I decided to re-install the OS, leaving the first install in a separate partition. After logging into my new account on the second install, I tried to access the ''Home'' folder to move the files from one partition to another, but it says it has been unmounted to protect my data. When clicking the Access-Your-Private-Data.desktop file, a console window briefly appears and then closes itself. I tried using the ''ecryptfs-mount-private'' command, but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong? I'm a newbie in this, and I'm completely lost.

Beans

Re: Encrypted home folder

Quote Originally Posted by Aladrac View Post
    Hello. I'm wondering if anybody could give me some guidance in this. When I first installed Kubuntu, I ticked the ''Encrypted home folder'' option. After noticing some issues I couldn't get past, I decided to re-install the OS, leaving the first install in a separate partition. After logging into my new account on the second install, I tried to access the ''Home'' folder to move the files from one partition to another, but it says it has been unmounted to protect my data. When clicking the Access-Your-Private-Data.desktop file, a console window briefly appears and then closes itself. I tried using the ''ecryptfs-mount-private'' command, but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong? I'm a newbie in this, and I'm completely lost.

lol,