Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: check trim on SSD 13.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    check trim on SSD 13.04

    Is there an easy way to see if trim is on for a new SSD.?? Something not to complicated to see if its on and how to turn it on...
    like a ready to go script...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    5,169
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    You can run trim manually with sudo fstrim /
    your sata controller needs to be in AHCI mode for trim to work
    To enable auto trim you use the discard option on the partition located on the ssd
    Code:
    ~$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
    # device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
    # that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=d842f936-1037-4cd8-96b1-b43e104b4bb0 /               ext4    noatime,discard,errors=remount-ro 0       1
    # /home was on /dev/sdb2 during installation
    UUID=b8362e2b-2cdb-40f4-a2a8-a9ed1207cb81 /home           ext4    defaults        0       2
    # /mnt/iso was on /dev/sdb5 during installation
    #UUID=156f2dd4-0bfe-414c-95a8-080973d9bedc /mnt/iso        ext4    defaults        0       2
    # /mnt/virtual_box was on /dev/sdb4 during installation
    #UUID=03cc0da7-dc02-4f82-832a-805f8c2e6c4d /mnt/virtual_box ext4    defaults        0       2
    # /var was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
    UUID=3d1dd4e3-d423-4802-b52a-aa74d6fdc8bd /var            ext4    defaults        0       2
    # /var/cache/apt/archives was on /dev/sdb3 during installation
    #UUID=39fbf8c6-5d6f-49b2-8433-c06f58278d36 /var/cache/apt/archives ext4    defaults        0       2
    # swap was on /dev/sdb6 during installation
    UUID=edcffc51-e736-474e-b338-18182e372f87 none            swap    sw              0       0
    # /tmp was moved to RAM after installation
    tmpfs                                     /tmp            tmpfs   defaults,noatime,mode=1777 0       0
    # /root was moved to /home/root after installation
    /home/root                                /root           bind    defaults,bind   0       0
    # /media was moved to RAM after installation
    tmpfs                                     /media          tmpfs   defaults,size=1M,mode=755 0       0
    SSD Guide:
    https://sites.google.com/site/easyli...-or-by-discard
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    HOWTO: Check If TRIM On Ext4 Is Enabled And Working On Ubuntu And Other Distributions
    http://sites.google.com/site/lightru...bledandworking

    There seem to be two ways to enable trim. Not sure if one is really better or not.
    One is using discard in fstab and the other uses a cron task and fstrim.


    Alternate to discard, call fstrim via cron
    http://opensuse.14.n6.nabble.com/SSD...td3313048.html
    test if trim working using hdparm
    http://techgage.com/article/enabling..._under_linux/2
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    I did the manual and it came back ok..that the machine did it and there was a number that it said it trimmed. This verifies
    that my bios has ahci enabled no???My Phoenix BIOS does not show any option for enabling ahci...
    but otherwise I would not have gotten a comeback on the manual trim..??
    am I right??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    Is this a new UEFI system? They may not have AHCI settings.

    If you did the fstrim command and it trimmed something then I think it is not working, but it may depend on how you have it configured.

    I did not turn on discard right away on my system, so when I ran the fstrim it did catch up on what was not trimmed as part of the discard command. Some users now seem to think fstrim is a better way?
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    5,169
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    if it is uefi it most likely defaults to ahci
    motherboard model
    Code:
    sudo hwinfo --bios | grep -i product -B2
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    Its a 7 year old Toshiba..

    If you did the fstrim command and it trimmed something then I think it is not working, but it may depend on how you have it configured.

    how does that make sense??????????????????????????

    it did something......... someone find out what is the real story with this and post it to Ubuntu..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: check trim on SSD 13.04

    If the fstrim command then trimmed something whatever auto settings you have are not working. I thought you wanted to check to see if it was working.
    Yes the fstrim should have worked. But you can check that by looking at the details. Some write 00 and other ff but if random data then not trimmed.

    If system is that old it probably does not have AHCI.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •