Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    214
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Two things I noticed. First, the Option "position" for your second monitor can't be "1281 0" because your main monitor is the 1366x768. So technically it should be "1367 0". The other thing, on your "Option "Monitor....", do some research on that. Maybe LVDS1 and VGA1 is not an option (you know what I mean?). That part of my config file was created by AMD catalyst for me so I wouldn't know for sure. I think it will be safe if you change it to "monitor- crt1" and "...-crt2".

    As far as hot plugging, I'll be honest, don't think I can help you there. But will do some research.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    You are so right about the position. I didn't notice that as I was suddenly thinking of a 1280x800 desktop! I'll go make that change.

    As far as the Monitor-xxx settings, that was me guessing it alright. The problem is, when I run amdcccle, I don't see any display section to configure my displays. It's always hybrid graphics and some AA options and that's it!

    I'll go make some changes.

    EDIT:
    This guy managed to get the option I want working as far as Monitor-xxx options go.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2115121

    EDIT2:
    I modified my xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    	Screen         "Screen1" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    	Option "Xinerama" "on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    	Option      "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
    	Option      "TargetRefresh" "60"
    	Option      "Position" "0 0"
    	Option      "Rotate" "normal"
    	Option      "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "VGA1"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    	Option      "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    	Option      "TargetRefresh" "60"
    	Option      "Positon" "1367 0"
    	Option      "Rotate" "normal"
    	Option      "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    	Option "Monitor-LVDS" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option "Monitor-CRT1" "VGA1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Virtual 2390 768
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen1"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "VGA1"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    I can only enable the second monitor once I reboot. Hotplugging doesn't work which seems to be caused by Xinerama. The second mirror acts as a mirror of my Laptop display screen, so the pointer actually goes off-screen at a certain point on my second monitor. I will try to remove Xinerama.

    EDIT:
    I get the same issues as at the start of this thread when Xinerama is disabled. On 12.10 all of this worked perfectly. My xorg.conf was just the regular amdconfig --initial and I could hotplug my monitor to fix it. Moving to 13.04 broke this... I'm wondering if there's a bug with xrandr and fglrx and Xorg 1.13...
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 3rd, 2013 at 10:13 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    214
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Have you looked at your Xorg.0.log file for clues?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I haven't found anything significant on the Xorg log file. Do we need Xinerama in there? It was not needed back in 12.10.

    It was also properly parsing the configuration file I had.

    Code:
    [    20.192] (==) ServerLayout "aticonfig Layout"
    [    20.192] (**) |-->Screen "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" (0)
    [    20.192] (**) |   |-->Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    [    20.192] (**) |   |-->Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    [    20.192] (**) |-->Screen "Screen1" (1)
    [    20.192] (**) |   |-->Monitor "VGA1"
    [    20.192] (**) |   |-->Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    I wonder if this is an issue...
    Code:
    [    21.062] (WW) fglrx: More than one matching Device section for instances
            (BusID: PCI:1:0:0) found: aticonfig-Device[0]-0
    Should I be setting primary on LVDS?

    Not much in the way of (EE) entries in there.
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 4th, 2013 at 01:28 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    214
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    As far as I know, if you want the second monitor as an extended desktop, yes you need Xinerama or all you'll get is a cloned screen.

    We need to find out which one drives your first video card output, the second and third (if there is) since you have a hybrid card

    execute "lspci" on terminal and check for something like:
    - BusId 1:0:0 Intel
    - BusId 1:0:1 Ati

    We've only been playing with fglrx the whole time. Maybe the first output is right with fglrx but the second output is being driven by the intel. We need all the details included on your xorg.conf so we can tell the system "the monitor is not hooked up but this is what it will be on this card once it's hooked up"

    I'm thinking, when you boot it up with everything connected, it detects everything and knows how to configure it. Meaning, your system detects what the Horizontal and Vertical refresh rates range are and the maximum resolution your monitor is capable of. But after it's been booted, it doesn't go through that process of determining your monitors capabilities. So, we will need to work on your Device, Monitor and Screen section of your xorg file

    For the monitor section we need to include your monitors Horizontal, Vertical and Resolution as follows. (You need to do some research and find out the refresh rate ranges).

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "VGA1"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60" COMMENT THIS ONE OUT. JUST ADD # BEFORE OPTION
    HorizSync 30-80
    VertRefresh 50-75

    Option "Positon" "1367 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    For your screen resolution add this to your Section Screen > SubSection Display
    Modes 1024x768
    For your device section you might need to add a second one if intel is being used and don't forget to specify the busid the card is using.
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    Option "Monitor-CRT1" "0-CRT1"
    Option "Monitor-CRT2" "0-CRT2"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    Last edited by jp734; July 4th, 2013 at 02:52 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Okay, so... here's what I got so far.

    This is what lspci gives me.
    Code:
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Thames XT [Radeon HD 7670M]
    I'm going to take a look at the xorg.conf file for your suggestions.

    Samsung monitor:
    http://reviews.cnet.com/crt-monitors...-31312643.html

    So, with this, should my settings look like this?
    Code:
    HorizSync 55
    VertRefresh 120
    Quote Originally Posted by jp734 View Post
    For your screen resolution add this to your Section Screen > SubSection Display
    I presume this is on Screen1? Just trying to make sure.
    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen1"
            Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
            Monitor    "VGA1"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Modes 1024x768
                    Depth     24
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 4th, 2013 at 10:41 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    214
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    For the screen resolution, YES, that is for your Screen1 (hot plugged monitor) and what you've done is correct. For the refresh rates, I did some searching myself and the range is HorizSync 30-50; VertRefresh 50-120. You can double check from the link below:

    http://www.samsync.com/downloadcente...793MB795MB.pdf

    Now, as far as your video card, now we know that for your AMD, the BusID is pci:1:0:0 and pci:0:2:0 for Intel.

    The question now is, the port where you plug in the monitor, is it being driven by Intel or AMD? This plays a big role coz nothing on your xorg.conf file that says we are using the Intel card for this monitor. So I think that would be your next assignment. And as usual, if I get some free time, I will do some research myself coz I like learning this kind of stuff. Never had a hybrid card before and who knows, I or a relative might have one one day. And it's fun!

    Maybe you can give me a detail on this pc of yours Model, brand, etc.....oops wait, you already mentioned it on your very first post I think.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Yes. I mentioned it on my first post. It's an HP Pavilion G4-2123TX and it's a Radeon HD 7670M.

    I looked into the xorg log file and saw that it was preloading the intel drivers as well, but I'm not certain as to what it's doing. I'll post the relevant entries.

    Code:
    [    21.745] ukiOpenByBusid: ukiGetBusid reports PCI:1:0:0
    [    21.746] (--) Chipset Supported AMD Graphics Processor (0x6840) found
    [    21.746] (II) fglrx: intel VGA device detected, load intel driver.
    [    21.746] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
    [    21.759] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so
    [    21.767] (II) Module intel: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
    [    21.767]    compiled for 1.13.3, module version = 2.21.6
    [    21.767]    Module class: X.Org Video Driver
    [    21.767]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 13.1
    [    21.767] (II) AMD Video driver is running on a device belonging to a group t
    argeted for this release
    [    21.767] (II) AMD Video driver is unsigned
    [    21.768] (II) fglrx(0): pEnt->device->identifier=0x7f0313accc80
    [    21.768] (II) intel(1): pEnt->device->identifier=(nil)
    [    21.768] (EE) Screen 1 deleted because of no matching config section.
    [    21.768] (II) UnloadModule: "intel"
    [    21.768] (II) fglrx(0): === [xdl_xs113_atiddxPreInit] === begin
    [    21.768] (II) fglrx(0): PowerXpress: Discrete GPU is selected.
    Looks like we hit a dead end here as the intel gpu chip is being deactivated. I'll try and run the xorg.conf with and without Xinerama (I didn't need to set Xinerama back in 12.10 so you have to forgive my suspicions over this option.)
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 5th, 2013 at 12:54 AM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    214
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Well, we just might be able to activate the intel graphics and set it to use your VGA connection. One more thing to try here and if it doesn't work, then I'm out of idea. So here it is. I'm thinking the reason Screen1 was deleted is because it is for Intel and your xorg.conf says it belongs to AMD. And your intel module is being unloaded because it wasn't mentioned again on your xorg.conf so we are basically telling the system we don't need it.

    So we are going to add another Device Section on your xorg.conf for your Intel graphics and let it use the VGA connection. I edited your configuration file and highlighted the ones I made changes to. Don't forget to make a backup copy of your existing one. Now it's up to you if you still want to try this or not. Or if what I'm thinking even makes sense to you. IT'S ALL UP TO YOU.

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    Screen "Screen1" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "Xinerama" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
    Option "TargetRefresh" "60"
    Option "Position" "0 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "VGA1"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    #Option "TargetRefresh" "60" #COMMENTED OUT. DON'T THINK WE NEED IF HORIZSYNC AND VERTREFRESH ARE SPECIFIED
    Option "Positon" "1367 0"
    Option "Rotate" "normal"
    Option "Disable" "false"
    HorizSync 30-80
    VertRefresh 50-120

    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option "Monitor-CRT1" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Intel_Card"
    Driver "intel"
    BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
    Option "Monitor-CRT1" "VGA1"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Virtual 2390 768
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device "Intel_Card"
    Monitor "VGA1"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I'm not seeing much sense to this since hybrid graphics chips are supposed to be mutually exclusive. It's either you use the power saving mode (Intel) or the performance mode (AMD). It seems rather silly to me that we'd need to use the Intel chip for the VGA port when that wasn't necessary before. Still, I suppose it's worth a try when I get the time to do it. Thanks for all your help, by the way. I appreciate the effort you put into this.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •