Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I upgraded to 13.04 the other day on my laptop HP Pavilion G4-2123TX (Radeon HD 7600M) and after fighting with fglrx to get it to load, I managed to get to work using this: http://askubuntu.com/questions/20511...rivers-to-work

    However, if I plug in my second monitor, I go to the big desktop automatically and the resolution is all broken. I can "see" my desktop, but the actual painting of the desktop is off. This didn't happen on 12.10. I need some help and guidance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    What do you mean by "I can see desktop but actual painting is off"? If you meant what I think you meant, try adding this to your config file.

    Option "ColorTilind2D" "Off"
    Last edited by jp734; June 30th, 2013 at 03:32 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Let me see if I can get a screenshot for you.

    EDIT:
    The printscreen is showing a correct desktop, but the actual big desktop is misaligned. The task bar is drawn on the middle and the 2 desktop are off completely. The problem is similar to what is described here: http://askubuntu.com/questions/31073...creen-problems

    When I move the mouse, the desktop is refreshed with the correct alignment for the big desktop, but this only happens for a second, and then the desktop goes back to the broken layout. This makes the screen flicker really terribly.
    Last edited by jackschmidt; June 30th, 2013 at 11:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    what does your xorg.conf look like and what monitors (model) and resolution are you using for each?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Here is my xorg.conf. Please note that this is only single screen. I only hotplug my second monitor as I don't always have it with me.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Here is the resolution I am using: 2390 x 768
    My laptop (HP Pavilion G4-2123TX) screen: 1366x768
    My Samsung SyncMaster 591s monitor: 1024x768
    Both at 60 Hz.

    I do not use Mirror Mode. If I configure mirror mode via settings at 1024x768, the 2 monitors display correctly. Once I go non-mirror mode, the screen goes insane.
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 2nd, 2013 at 07:19 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    Two things, for non-mirror mode, you need to specify a virtual screen size:

    Virtual 2390x768

    Put it under section screen>subsection display.

    Then you need xinerama :

    Section "severflags"
    Option "xinerama" "on"
    EndSection

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I tried your suggestion and X wouldn't startup. I'm assuming I did something wrong.
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
                    Virtual 2390x768
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "serverflags"
            Option "xinerama" "on"
    EndSection

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    213
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    The easiest way to do this is to run "aticonfig --initial" on terminal.It will make a backup copy of your existing configuration file and create a new one. If for some odd reason it won't do it for you, you can check the copy of my xorg.conf here. This is my working setup for 3 monitors using 2 radeon cards.

    I would suggest making sure you have two instances of Section "Monitor" and Section "Screen" for your second monitor. Also, under Section "Device", you can add the Option "Monitor....". You will notice on one of my device section, there are options for the two monitors connected on one card.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I have a backup of my xorg.conf so the issue earlier was easily fixed. My AMD Catalyst Control Center has no Display section, so I cannot seemingly configure the 2nd screen. I'll have a look at your xorg.conf but it looks to me that you are essentially telling me to write manually my second screen into the xorg.conf, right?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: FGLRX and 2 screens don't work after 13.04 upgrade

    I managed to fiddle around with my xorg.conf but it looks like the end result is just a mirror desktop (and wrong resolutions at that) and randr seems to have been disabled by fglrx (seemingly caused by Xinerama). Please have a look at my xorg.conf and se if I'm missing something here.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    	Screen         "Screen1" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    	Option "Xinerama" "on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    	Option      "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
    	Option      "TargetRefresh" "60"
    	Option      "Position" "0 0"
    	Option      "Rotate" "normal"
    	Option      "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "VGA1"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    	Option      "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    	Option      "TargetRefresh" "60"
    	Option      "Positon" "1281 0"
    	Option      "Rotate" "normal"
    	Option      "Disable" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    	Option "Monitor-LVDS1" "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option "Monitor-VGA1" "VGA1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Virtual 2390 768
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen1"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "VGA1"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    I also realize that for this xorg.conf to show 2 desktops, I have to boot with my second monitor plugged in, which just creates some very bad mirror desktop. Hotplugging my 2nd monitor doesn't work.

    I have also tried your first suggestion on simply having Xinerama On and Virtual resolution but the end result was very bad.

    I tried removing Xinerama which re-enabled xrandr but plugging in the second monitor only shows the same issue.

    Hope you can help me!
    Last edited by jackschmidt; July 3rd, 2013 at 07:30 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •