Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    I kept XP around for some reason, which now I forget. And will keep it around, because I still forget.
    Probably to show people in the future what a crappy Op System looked like .LOL

    It almost sounds easier to just do an install for something like Black Box onto a USB stick and not actually put it onto the hard drive. Of course if I can sell an air rifle that I have and pick up an HP nc6230 that I found the point will be somewhat moot since I can use the that laptop for a "take around" and it'll have BBL on it and then I can just keep 12.04 on my nc8230 for home use.
    Last edited by TNFrank; June 28th, 2013 at 09:18 PM.
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
    Beans
    2,586
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    My office computer has Ubuntu, XP and Win 7 64.
    (I need AutoCAD and SolidWorks and with large files I need the ram of a 64 bit system).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Kuwait/Working
    Beans
    169
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    Hmmm, I did it a long time ago. However, it was more of a pain than it was a help. I did Ubuntu, Fedora, and Win Vista at the time. I spent most of my time in Ubuntu.
    I see above someone has Ubuntu Precise and Kubuntu Precise in a seperate boot. Just out of curiousity why didn't you just install kubuntu-desktop whilst in Ubuntu. I have, currently on the same install Xubuntu, Ubuntu, and Ubuntu Gnome. You just boot into Ubuntu from grub, then when you reach our log-in screen, you just chose the session you wish. I'm just curious for this reasoning for seperate boot partitions.
    Big D
    My Blog
    AMD FX 9590 Vishera/32 Gig DDR3 1866/AMD R9 290X GHz Edition
    Win8.1 Pro 64 bit/Xubuntu 14.04.1 64 bit

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,753
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    Quote Originally Posted by JDorfler View Post
    Hmmm, I did it a long time ago. However, it was more of a pain than it was a help. I did Ubuntu, Fedora, and Win Vista at the time. I spent most of my time in Ubuntu.
    I see above someone has Ubuntu Precise and Kubuntu Precise in a seperate boot. Just out of curiousity why didn't you just install kubuntu-desktop whilst in Ubuntu. I have, currently on the same install Xubuntu, Ubuntu, and Ubuntu Gnome. You just boot into Ubuntu from grub, then when you reach our log-in screen, you just chose the session you wish. I'm just curious for this reasoning for seperate boot partitions.
    Because I like to run Kubuntu as vanilla as possible.
    Pure Kubuntu without any gnome/ubuntu/unity packages installed.

    Sure I could install a desktop metapackage and be done with it.
    But there something to running an OS as close to the defaults, that strikes me.

    On a different setup, I have a lot of different desktops, including gnome-shell/classic,kde,xfce/xubuntu/awesome,cairo-dock,lxde,lubuntu,icewm,fluxbox,openbox,and couple others which I tend to forget.

    And so I know how to switch a desktop.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    22

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    Many years ago I triple booted windoze 98, Caldera Linux and BeOS using the BeOS boot manager and it worked quite good till I finally went all Linux on my daily use Computer.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    28

    Re: Has anyone ever done a Triple Boot system?

    I have 3 hard drives, OS's include Ubuntu, Windows XP, a nd Mac. I did have ubuntu and mac on the T byte but recently changed to having it on a 250 G. Windows is on a 120 g drive. Grub will recognize all three. The only problem with loading more than one linux OS is that the last one installed only recognizes itself. Not with ubuntu though, the grub in it will triple boot all three.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •