Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Choppy flash audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast UK
    Beans
    569
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Choppy flash audio

    I ve had this problem for the last year but I cant find a way of fixing it. I m using the latest flash version. Its now the 32 bit one as I tried that to see if it worked better than the 64 bit one (it doesnt), I ve tried so many things, like disabling hardware acceleration, all sorts but nothing works, I m at the end of my tether. I Googled it and there are lots of posts I ve tried so many things I cant remember them all. Can anyone sort it ?
    Gigabyte Brix AMD A8-5545 APU/Radeon HD8510G Graphics/8Gb RAM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,749

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    Is this on the machine with the hardware specs in your signature? That's a pretty fast machine, it should be up to the challenge!

    I have best results first downloading the video and then watching it from my hard drive using VLC or mplayer. Have you tried this method yet?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast UK
    Beans
    569
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    Yes, it is, always used to work ok, in fact I ve only recemtly discovered it was Flash - I d always thought it was an ISP problem.

    I often do download things to watch them, but I shouldnt have to, it should just work.

    I m trying to watch something on iplayer and you have to have iplayer desktop to download stuff - all the download agents I ve tried simply dont detect iplayer videos - but that wont download it either, it says there was a problem ! Argh !!
    Gigabyte Brix AMD A8-5545 APU/Radeon HD8510G Graphics/8Gb RAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    I believe iplayer-desktop is no longer working for Linux, however, I suggest you try get-iplayer, either direct from the normal ubuntu repos, or alternatively from the ppa (using
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:jon-hedgerows/get-iplayer
    to enable the ppa) which I use quite a lot; it's not perfect but it does a pretty good job most of the time as long as there is a download of the appropriate type available at the BBC.
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    ^ If you are going to use get_iplayer then you must use the PPA version as the version in the standard repositories doesn't work anymore.
    Cheesemill

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast UK
    Beans
    569
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    Ok, thanks, but I ve tried to install getiplayer before without success, I m not that bothered about it anyway and it wont help play Flash from all the other sites that dont use html5 yet, only iplayer stuff.

    I ve watched what I wanted on iplayer now and put up with the choppiness (the video is slightly choppy as well, I noticed).

    All I want to do is watch ANY Flash video without choppiness, anyone got any suggestions as to why I cant do that and what I can do to make it work ? ?
    Gigabyte Brix AMD A8-5545 APU/Radeon HD8510G Graphics/8Gb RAM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    England
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    What graphic chip does that ASUS card use and what driver do you have installed for it?
    DISTRO: Xubuntu 14.04-64bit --- Code-tags --- Boot-Repair --- Grub2 wiki & Grub2 Basics --- RootSudo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Coast UK
    Beans
    569
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Choppy flash audio

    nVidia chip, downloaded extra drivers for it.

    In "system" it says "Gallium 0.4 on NV98", since 12.04, I think, it says "standard" experience, I always used to go for "enhanced", cant find any way to do that now, other than by installing CCSM
    Gigabyte Brix AMD A8-5545 APU/Radeon HD8510G Graphics/8Gb RAM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •