Thread: Mirror sites for mini CD installation

Beans

Mirror sites for mini CD installation

Greatings from Amsterdam,

As a newbie, I'm stuck. I'm trying to install Ubuntu 12.04 PPC onto an elderly Mac G4 PowerBook. I understand the process, I can even get the very temperamental boot DVD to work, (eventually). Shouting at it while depressing "c" seems to work well.It is when I get to the mirror images. I understand what mirror images are, that is self explanatory. What I don't understand is the requests being asked by the Debian style installer. When I say I don't understand, I really mean, its a total mystery! The terminology, where to find the mirrors, how to enter them into the fields, you name it and its a mystery. I been searching for these answers. I get plenty of what to do with them but no how to do its. I'm just running around in circles and it's really frustrating. Any help would much appreciated. Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

Re: Mirror sites for mini CD installation

Hi, welcome to the fora.

Funny, just yesterday I wrote some advice on G4 installation. If you have the same graphics card you might need the same operation.
    Here's the mirror list.

Moving your post to the Apple forum.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

Beans

Hi and thanks for getting back to me so quickly. I've actually got Lubuntu on it at the moment. Its very quick but it is also full of bugs that really make you crazy. I thought I would try Ubuntu. I just don't understand what to do with the mirror sites. I've tried what I consider a logical approach to entering the info into the fields. The computer says otherwise. What I'm doing is pure trial and errors and I'm getting it wrong every time.

Beans
    Distro

Lubuntu 12.04 is indeed full of bugs. Go for 13.04.

Which mirror(s) are you typing during the install?

Have you tried the alternate Lubuntu for Power PC?