Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Not all iso's use "boot".

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Not all iso's use "boot".

    So, I'm still trying to make a multi boot USB using UNetbootin and the YouTube video that this guy posted.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MH-khdiXqYs
    and I'm finding out that not all of the iso's use "boot" as their go to folder to boot from. Peppermint and Ubuntu are both wanting to use "casper" as their go to folder to boot to so that means that I'll have to change the name of the "casper" folder before I install the next iso if it's going to use "casper" too. That way each iso will have it's own folder to boot from which isn't the boot folder at all but a renamed "casper" folder.
    Is any of this making sense at all to anyone?
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    Well, that didn't go over very well. Renaming the "casper" files only threw everything into a kernal panic at reboot. I guess I'll just have to run one iso per USB drive until someone comes up with something like MultiBootUSB that's simple to use.
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    I think I posted before, I just do it manually.

    Yes you may have to go into ISO and see the path it expects and adjust your grub boot file to be that path. I also have to often review the boot parameters the ISO expects or needs and add them also. Each is different.

    And not all ISO can be loop mounted but many can be.
    Ubuntu uses casper (for desktops), Parted Magic used pmagic, and gparted used live. Each may be different as there is no standard.

    These are from my hard drive as that is my most updated version. And drive is gpt partitioned so I have to insmod that for grub to work correctly.
    Code:
     menuentry "Ubuntu 13.04 Raring ISO 64bit" {
        set isofile="/iso/raring-desktop-amd64.iso"
        insmod part_gpt
        loopback loop (hd2,4)$isofile 
        linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz.efi file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile nomodeset
        initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    
       menuentry "Parted Magic 2013 (Boot ISO Image via Grub2) " {
    
     insmod part_gpt
    set isofile="/iso/pmagic_2013_02_28.iso"
    loopback loop (hd2,4)$isofile
    linux (loop)/pmagic/bzImage iso_filename=$isofile edd=off load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal loglevel=9 max_loop=256 vmalloc=384MiB nomodeset
    initrd (loop)/pmagic/initrd.img
    
     }
       menuentry "gparted (Boot ISO Image via Grub2) " {
    
     insmod part_gpt
    set isofile="/iso/gparted-live-0.12.1-5.iso"
    loopback loop (hd2,4)$isofile
    
     #    linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz live-media=iso=$isofile keyb=us gl_kbd=us gl_lang=en_US gl_numlk=off gl_batch boot=live union=aufs  #toram=filesystem.squashfs noswap noprompt vga=791
    #        linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz fromiso=$isofile boot=live noswap
            linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz boot=live config union=aufs noswap noprompt ip=frommedia findiso=$isofile toram=filesystem.squashfs
     initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
    
     }
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
    Beans
    3,449
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    So what is it you don't like about MultiBootUSB?
    I used it to make a multi flash drive three years ago and now just exchange new iso's for old and edit grub when I want to update anything on it.

  5. #5
    monkeybrain2012 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    I use multisystem to make multiboot live usbs.

    http://liveusb.info/dotclear/index.php?pages/install

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    Quote Originally Posted by C.S.Cameron View Post
    So what is it you don't like about MultiBootUSB?
    I used it to make a multi flash drive three years ago and now just exchange new iso's for old and edit grub when I want to update anything on it.
    I had it installed last week but couldn't get it to see my USB drive. Not sure what the problem was. I can use either UNetbootin or Startup Disk Creator to make bootable single iso USB's but I'd really like to have more then one iso on each USB if I can.
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
    Beans
    3,449
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    Are we talking the same MultiBootUSB?
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1518273
    It only runs from a Linux that uses USB2, Like Ubuntu 9.10 and later.It is pretty simple to use:

    1. Download the script from https://sourceforge.net/projects/multibootusb/files/

    2. Extract it to your home folder (Right click --> Extract here)

    3. Open terminal and move to the script folder (cd MultiBootUSB)

    4. Provide root permission (su) and type ./MultiBootUSB.sh and hit enter (for Ubuntu just type sudo ./MultiBootUSB.sh with out issuing su command)

    6. Here after follow on screen instructions

    7. Screenshots can be found in doc folder for reference.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    Quote Originally Posted by C.S.Cameron View Post
    Are we talking the same MultiBootUSB?
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1518273
    It only runs from a Linux that uses USB2, Like Ubuntu 9.10 and later.It is pretty simple to use:

    1. Download the script from https://sourceforge.net/projects/multibootusb/files/

    2. Extract it to your home folder (Right click --> Extract here)

    3. Open terminal and move to the script folder (cd MultiBootUSB)

    4. Provide root permission (su) and type ./MultiBootUSB.sh and hit enter (for Ubuntu just type sudo ./MultiBootUSB.sh with out issuing su command)

    6. Here after follow on screen instructions

    7. Screenshots can be found in doc folder for reference.
    Ok, this looks like a different one then the one I was talking about. I followed the instructions as listed above and got a box that ask me to select a USB port then it ask if I wanted it to load automatically or manually. I'm going to give this one a try with my 32GB Kingston USB drive and see if it'll work. Thanks.
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Beans
    174
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Not all iso's use "boot".

    Gave it a try, tried to put 4 distros on the USB drive and only one, Peppermint, showed up and it didn't open. Not sure what the problem is, no big deal though, I'll just get a few 8GB USB drives and put each distro on a separate USB drive.
    "Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room!"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •