Thread: Customising right-click menus

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Customising right-click menus

Hello all. I've been using Ubuntu for 2 or 3 years now, but I'm still a comparative newbie in a lot of ways.

I'd like to be able to edit right-click menus to remove certain options, partly because, in Ubuntu, the mouse - any mouse - is much more sensitive than it ever was in Windows, and some of those options are potentially "dangerous".

In case it's relevant, I'm running 12.04 (64-bit) with the Gnome desktop because I find it much easier to use than Unity.

One item I'd particularly like to get rid of is "Format" when I right click on a mounted partition or external device displayed on the desktop. I choose to show any mounted drives in this way, both as a visual reminder and as a quick way of unmounting when they're no longer needed (I use a number of partitions and a few removable devices).

The mouse often responds as if I'd left-clicked where I had no intention of clicking. I'm aware that after accidentally clicking "format" I'm then prompted to choose a file system, giving me a "second chance" to abort the operation, but there are other ways to format a device if I really want to, so I'd rather not have it as an option in the right-click menu.

There's also a risk that a visitor (I've got a couple in mind here) might accidentally format a device without understanding what happened.

Sorry it's such a long post over a fairly simple matter, but with 1.75TB of HD space, I've got a lot to lose.

One final point. If I need to enter code into the terminal, please try to keep it simple. I'm more comfortable with graphical solutions.

Beans
    Distro

Re: Customising right-click menus

Hello??? Anyone?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

The link should point you in the riight direction. http://askubuntu.com/questions/21953...nu-in-nautilus
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages