Thread: Severe problem help pls

Beans

Exclamation Severe problem help pls

ok, i messed up big time. I am a beginner and I have no idea how Linux works. So I have drives A and B, with A partitioned into 1 and 2, and installed Ubuntu into 1. so I decided to format drive B (which had my windows 7) and let 2 be alone (holding Vista). After formatting B, I booted Ubuntu from my cd ( I installed with it) and wiped out 1 (the one holding Ubuntu). I used Gpart. and then, I installed Ubuntu into B(used to be windows 7). After the installation, I cant boot anything at all. I get the black white screen with grub saying "partition not found" and then a command expecting "grub rescue> " I need help seriously, I cant even access my vista now.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Severe problem help pls

I'm having a hard time following everything and don't feel like making a chart.
    Please do this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Info and post the results so that someone might be able to help.
    If you are impatient, you might attempt a fix with https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair first.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

There are no such things as 'A' and 'B' drives. It might help if you booted up with the Ubuntu-cd, start up GParted and make pictures. But the above advice about running the boot-info script comes first

I certainly do not hope so, but if I understand you correctly you just effectively wiped your disk. And i suppose you don't have backups?
    I'm thinking about it

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish