Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shell Scripting

Beans

Shell Scripting

Hi guys I have developed a interest in Linux and Open Source Technologies I wish to develop my skills further and to become more productive in my spare time and actually learn some stuff.

I am pretty comfortable using the command line and am willing to get my hands dirty. The first area of interest is Shell Scripting, Now I am not a programmer I don't think like a programmer or have the programmers godlike mentality Variables? For? Loops? it currently all goes over my head

So for somebody who knows nothing about scripting or programming concepts how do you begin to learn to script? am I out of my depth here? is there a suitable beginners course or tutorial or book out there? which starts you off with the basics i.e hello world and takes it a step further with introduction of variables etc.

How did you guys start with Linux? what kind of projects did you start with and how much time do you need to dedicate to it to develop a solid understanding.

Thanks for the help appreciate the insight

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Shell Scripting

Check out the Ubuntu wiki, specifically the links on this page...

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CommandLineResources
    Cheesemill

prodigy_ is offline May the Ubuntu Be With You!
    Beans

Well, I learned bash when I was creating a script that would install and auto-configure xl2tpd (my ISP uses L2TP for user auth). Initially I wrote a small script but eventually it grew to over 1k lines and at some point the project became too time consuming for me to maintain. My code was really naive and quite ugly but it worked. :)