Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Unhappy Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    Hi all. We've been trying to get Ubuntu to cooperate all day and having no luck. It won't boot off of the CD. If I hold alt and F1 I get the grub menu but then I end up getting a partition error for everything I do (error takes a while). We tried the trial and error method of https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI. It made no difference. The only thing we didn't do is to disable Intel Smart Response (doesn't look like it is installed).

    About the system... It's a fresh build (my first). ASUS P8z77-V LE Plus motherboard, i7 chip, 8 gigs of DDR3 memory and a Samsung SSD drive, HP DVD/CD 1260i.

    I tried the disc on my brothers laptop and it works like a charm, so it isn't the disc.

    Sigh. My dad talked me into this cool Linux thing but I just want to get my new system working. Any help?

  2. #2
    ahallubuntu is offline Chocolate-Covered Ubuntu Beans
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    ~
    Last edited by ahallubuntu; June 24th, 2013 at 01:53 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    Thanks for the response. I don't have a way to test memory. Looking in BIOS everything looks fine except it us supposed to run @ 1867 mhz but the JEDEC is saying 1600 and BIOS says my max clock speed is 1600 mhz. When I try and run the memory test from the CD I get the same partition error that I get every time

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    So if I let the little Ubuntu dude and keyboard sit long enough I get this...

    Kernel panic - not syncing VFS Unable to mount root FS on unknown block followed by a bunch of lines of code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    also, to troubleshoot, I pulled one memory stick out at a time to see if I had one that was bad. No change. I guess they both could be bad but I don't think I'm that unlucky... Help?

  6. #6
    ahallubuntu is offline Chocolate-Covered Ubuntu Beans
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    ~
    Last edited by ahallubuntu; June 24th, 2013 at 01:52 AM.

  7. #7
    ahallubuntu is offline Chocolate-Covered Ubuntu Beans
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    2,050

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    ~
    Last edited by ahallubuntu; June 24th, 2013 at 01:52 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    So, this is probably nothing but... I noticed the installer for my 64 bit Ubuntu has amd in the name. I'm running an Intel processor. The laptop that this disc worked on has an AMD. Do I have the wrong installer? I couldn't find an intel version...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    You mean, you hit Esc as soon as you see the "little Ubuntu dude" and then you tried running the Memtest and you got the partition error?
    I hit alt and F1 actually...

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    Do you have any other discs you can try to boot? It could also be your CD/DVD player.
    I tried a blue ray player, same deal

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    Did you try disabling Secure Boot in the BIOS?
    Yes, didnt help...

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    What version of Ubuntu are you trying to boot?
    12.04 desktop (64 bit)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Trying a new installation, disc partition errors

    Quote Originally Posted by ahallubuntu View Post
    I wasn't thinking bad RAM as much as incompatible RAM.
    According to Asus, the RAM should be compatible. (should be anyway...)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •