Thread: How to upload files?

Beans

How to upload files?

Hi,
    I'm new to Ubuntu Server (but familiar with Ubuntu). I installed Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS for the first time today. I successfully installed apache, php, mysql, and vsftpd. So I can connect to http://192.168.x.x and ftp://192.168.x.x from my other computer.

So I'm trying to find a way to upload my index.php to the apache root folder of my server computer. How do I do this?
    with SSH?
    with FileZilla?

any would be great, I just need a direction. And I would love it if I can use a GUI on my desktop computer (like FileZilla drag&drop)

I'm aware that using GUI on the server leads to security risks, but using the GUI on my desktop (which will -hopefully- connect to my server) does not impose any security risks, right?

And one final question, (you can answer this by proposing a google search term ) I can connect to 192.168.x.x from my other computer (which is connected to same modem), but can I connect to my server from any other network? or is this only local? If the latter, how do I make it available for connection from the internet, and moreover, how do I make it host my domain name?

Thanks !

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: How to upload files?

Install ssh
    sudo apt-get install openssh-server

Once done, you can use a program like winscp on your windows box to upload or download files using a secure copy mechanism

From another linux machine, the command line is a lot easier,

scp myfile user@ipaddress:/home/myhomedir/upload

to upload

scp user@ipaddress:/home/myhomedir/upload/myfile

to download to the current directory
    You can tell a man who boozes by the company he chooses, as the pig got up and slowly walked away.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

For part two, just look for port forwarding .... its more to do with your router configuration .