Thread: confusion about root account and default names account created upon installation

Beans

confusion about root account and default names account created upon installation

Unix/Ubuntu newbie here. A question about user accounts.

I installed the latest stable of Ubuntu to setup a file share. When I installed it I gave a user name for an account it asked for and also a password. This is the user name and password I have to use when I log in.

I setup a folder to share in my home/<username> directory by right clicking, selecting sharing options, and enabling sharing of the folder to all users. Then I went to my Windows PC on the same LAN and selected the folder that I just shared on Ubuntu to map to a drive in Windows. However, I am prompted to enter root as the username and the password I supplied for the account that was setup at install time. The username (and associated password) I see on login prompt is not accepted.

I know what su and sudo do. I never setup a root password at install time. But sudo works with the same password as my name user account. I do not get how that works. Why are the passwords the same for user name and root accounts?

I just want to be clear so that I am not inadvertently setting up a security issue.

I tried searching the forums for similar topics but could not find it so I hope others who have this same confusion are cleared of it.

Help appreciated

Beans

Re: confusion about root account and default names account created upon installation

For sudo you use your own password, not the root's password. (On Ubuntu the root account has no password, so it is not possible to login as root.) Sudo just gives you root privileges.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: confusion about root account and default names account created upon installation