Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    8,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    I just noticed that opening a page at ubuntuforums.org involves connecting to "runeplanet.com". What's that about?
    Shortened urls: See point #11 here. And clicking on them could be risky.
    Use ubuntu-support-status with caution.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,007
    Distro
    Xubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    I'm pretty sure it doesn't do that for me. I ran "watch lsof -i" in a command prompt while loading a forum page.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    8,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Cog View Post
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't do that for me. I ran "watch lsof -i" in a command prompt while loading a forum page.
    Please try this page: http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php?do=getnew

    It may not appear on subsequent pages.

    But this is what I see when I look at "open blockable items" in AdBlock Plus. I also saw it show up in the little status bubble that appears in the bottom left of pages in Firefox when a pages is loading or when the mouse cursor is over a link:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Shortened urls: See point #11 here. And clicking on them could be risky.
    Use ubuntu-support-status with caution.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /Europe/Netherlands
    Beans
    401
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    It takes a script from there called vb.js NoScript blocks runeplanet here by default as I've not whitelisted it. I see no difference in appearance when allowing or disallowing the script.
    Last edited by Erik1984; July 14th, 2013 at 07:51 PM.
    "I believe humans get a lot done, not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." --Flash Rosenberg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    8,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    Quote Originally Posted by Euroman View Post
    It takes a script from there called vb.js NoScript blocks runeplanet here by default as I've not whitelisted it. I see no difference in appearance when allowing or disallowing the script. This is de direct link to the script: http://www.runeplanet.com/at/vb.js
    Thanks for confirming. My question was why does this occur. As you can see from the image I put up, I've blocked it as well until I know more about why it's linked to ubuntuforums.org..
    Shortened urls: See point #11 here. And clicking on them could be risky.
    Use ubuntu-support-status with caution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /Europe/Netherlands
    Beans
    401
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    -
    Last edited by Erik1984; July 14th, 2013 at 07:53 PM.
    "I believe humans get a lot done, not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." --Flash Rosenberg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,007
    Distro
    Xubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    It's a script linked to in a post "Test" posted by DiegoTc in Honduras announcements.
    I'm not that good with javascript, but I do see a function called "stealPassword()".
    The script is http://www.runeplanet.com/at/vb.js

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,007
    Distro
    Xubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    By the way,

    Nice catch, vasa1.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    8,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Cog View Post
    By the way,

    Nice catch, vasa1.
    Thank you! I don't know much about how these things work but isn't it a bit scary that a script in a post, a post I noticed but didn't open, is loaded?
    Shortened urls: See point #11 here. And clicking on them could be risky.
    Use ubuntu-support-status with caution.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Why connect to www.runeplanet.com?

    Even if you don't have any kind of prefetching active in your browser, the first post in each thread visible on the page is loaded to create the tooltip preview of the post. I would have assumed that all happened serverside, though - I wouldn't think that the previews are being generated locally, which I'd think would mean moving around a lot more data than necessary.

    The script wouldn't be running, of course, just called as part of the content of the post and then omitted from the preview.
    I know I shouldn't use tildes for decoration, but they always make me feel at home~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •