Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    17

    Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    Hi

    After having a read a bunch of posts I'm still unclear on how to
    1) Use the radeon graphics card
    2) Switch between graphics card.

    My current configuration is ubuntu13.04 with kernel 3.8.0-19-lowlatency and I'm booting in efi mode using efit. I'm currently using the integrated intel graphics card by using the following grub option

    Code:
     
    recordfail
        load_video
        gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod btrfs
        set root='hd4,gpt3'
        outb 0x728 1
        outb 0x710 2
        outb 0x740 2
        outb 0x750 0
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd4,gpt3 --hint-efi=hd4,gpt3 --hint-baremetal=ahci4,gpt3  f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b
        fi
        echo    'A carregar Linux 3.8.0-19-lowlatency ...'
        linux    /@/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-lowlatency root=UUID=f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b ro rootflags=subvol=@   video=efifb i915.modeset=1 i915.lvds_channel_mode=2 i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 nosplash
        echo    'A carregar ramdisk inicial ...'
        initrd    /@/boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-19-lowlatency
    This is the only configuration where I've ever managed to boot ubuntu.

    If I try booting with

    Code:
      linux    /@/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-lowlatency  root=UUID=f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b ro rootflags=subvol=@  nosplash
    The boot procedure just hangs with the message "Cannot initialize Agpart Module".

    If I try booting with

    Code:
    recordfail
        load_video
        gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod btrfs
        set root='hd4,gpt3'
        outb 0x728 1
        outb 0x710 2
        outb 0x740 2
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd4,gpt3 --hint-efi=hd4,gpt3 --hint-baremetal=ahci4,gpt3  f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b
        fi
        echo    'A carregar Linux 3.8.0-19-lowlatency ...'
        linux    /@/boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-19-lowlatency root=UUID=f2e4e4d3-2d8e-4764-a818-de9176405c4b ro rootflags=subvol=@ i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 nosplash
        echo    'A carregar ramdisk inicial ...'
        initrd    /@/boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-19-lowlatency
    I get

    Code:
    [    6.849787] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [    6.849790] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [    6.849846] fb: conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs EFI VGA - removing generic driver
    [    7.223532] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    [    7.223631] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    [    7.223675] [drm:radeon_get_bios] *ERROR* Unable to locate a BIOS ROM
    [    7.223723] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
    [    7.223764] [drm] radeon: finishing device.
    [    7.224999] radeon: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -22
    I would like to be able to use the radeon graphics card and to be able to switch between cards.

    Any help apreciated.

    Miguel Negrão
    Last edited by miguelnegrao; May 30th, 2013 at 01:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    3,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    Getting a switchable graphics to work properly can be difficult. As far as I know (but I am no expert since I do not own a device with switchable graphics) you need the proprietary AMD graphics drivers:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1930450

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Planet earth, for now.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    Quote Originally Posted by 2F4U View Post
    Getting a switchable graphics to work properly can be difficult. As far as I know (but I am no expert since I do not own a device with switchable graphics) you need the proprietary AMD graphics drivers:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1930450
    I tried installing the proprietary amd drivers but they fail to load. Find attached the dmesg log.

    Code:
    dmesg | grep fglrx
    
    [    5.513870] fglrx: module license 'Proprietary. (C) 2002 - ATI Technologies, Starnberg, GERMANY' taints kernel.
    [    5.528335] <6>[fglrx] Maximum main memory to use for locked dma buffers: 7667 MBytes.
    [    5.528507] <6>[fglrx]   vendor: 1002 device: 6760 count: 1
    [    5.531777] <6>[fglrx] ioport: bar 4, base 0x2000, size: 0x100
    [    5.531873] <6>[fglrx] Kernel PAT support is enabled
    [    5.531905] <6>[fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 12.10.5 [Mar 28 2013] with 1 minors
    [    6.500443] <3>[fglrx:hal_read_VBIOS] *ERROR* Invalid AMD VBIOS at bus 1!
    [    6.500446] <3>[fglrx:hal_init_gpu] *ERROR* Failed to read VBIOS!
    [    6.500448] <6>[fglrx] device open failed with code -1
    [    6.505330] <6>[fglrx] ATIF platform detected with notification ID: 0x81
    [    6.505686] <3>[fglrx:firegl_get_vbios_image] *ERROR* Invalid image size requested
    [    6.505722] <3>[fglrx:firegl_cail_query_parameter] *ERROR* CAIL_QueryParameter failed
    Would I need to also add some settings to grub ? Do the proprietary amd drivers work with ubuntu and unity in 13.04 ?

    best,
    Miguel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    3,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    What ATI card is it? It seems as if the driver is not recognising the card.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    I'ts a macbookpro 8,2 with a Radeon HD 6490M:

    Radeon HD 6490M* GDDR5
    Details: *This system has dual graphics processors -- an AMD Radeon HD 6490M graphics processor with 256 MB of dedicated GDDR5 SDRAM and Intel HD Graphics 3000 with 384 MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    I was able to get the radeon working by booting directly through refind using efi stub boot. This should be documented !!!! I've lost countless hours on this ! (I'm willing to document, if I know where to go)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Planet earth, for now.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    I heard the Tutorials sub-forum was reopened recently. That's the place for it.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=100

    Just list the steps you took to get it going in easy to follow point form, elaborate where necessary, and it's documented.

    I usually find it easiest to knock it up in a word processor and get it right and presentable there then just copy/paste that into the first post of the thread and tweak a little more there. Add a link to it in your signature if you fancy (you might need to have fifty beans to do that, though, not sure) but definately post a link to it here to wrap things up if and when you write it up. Good luck.
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; May 30th, 2013 at 02:12 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Using radeon graphics card on MacBookPro8,2

    I've documented the steps needed in https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacBookPro8-2/Raring

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •