Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Can't resume from suspend

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland
    Beans
    384
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Toz it was killing me what the hell was causing it. You were bang on from the start TLP was the issue. I had to fight this to see what the problem was it was really bugging me. Without installing TLP I can't reproduce the problem. As soon as I install TLP BAM!!! it starts happening. The only problem is I don't know how to report the bug or is it specific for my hardware......
    I did email the PPA owner as there was no option to report a bug on his page. I can live without the extra 2 hours battery life. Going to look into some other power management options.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Are you using the proprietary fglrx driver or the open source radeon one? The proprietary drivers often give better power management performance.

    Also, what is the model number of your laptop? Is it one of those hybrid laptops that has both an intel and amd graphics card? This will help identify the video card(s):
    Code:
    sudo lspci- vnn | grep -A15 VGA

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland
    Beans
    384
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Open source I do get slightly longer with the fglrx driver. I have smoother experience with the open source driver. But my fan almost never stops spinning even if its idle for over an hour.... It does stop frequently using the fglrx driver thus giving me slightly better battery life. fglrx maybe 2hrs max open source 1hr 30 mins max and using the TLP I was getting 3 1/2 - 4 hours.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland
    Beans
    384
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Sorry it isn't hybrid laptop either it has Radeon HD 7670M dedicated graphics.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    What model number is the laptop?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland
    Beans
    384
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Thames XT [Radeon HD 7670M] [1002:6840] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])	Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device [1179:fb22]
    	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 43
    	Memory at b0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
    	Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
    	I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
    	Expansion ROM at c0040000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
    	Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
    	Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    	Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
    	Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
    	Kernel driver in use: radeon
    
    
    01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Turks/Whistler HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6000 Series] [1002:aa90]
    	Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device [1179:ff1e]
    Toshiba Satellite L855 - 149

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Can you try some kernel boot parameters to see if you get better power performance? See the "Kernel Boot Parameters" link in my signature for more information on how. I would suggest trying, one at a time, the following:

    acpi_osi=
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi="
    acpi_osi=Linux
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi=Linux"
    acpi_osi="!Windows 2012"
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi=\"!Windows 2012\""

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Waterford, Ireland
    Beans
    384
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Can I add them like this:

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="acpi_osi= quiet splash radeon.audio=1"
    I need the radeon.audio=1 for my HDMI sound to work with the radeon open source driver.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    You could, but the general convention is to add new parameters to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX line (leaving the originals on the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT line) like this:
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="radeon.audio=1 acpi_osi="

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    84
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't resume from suspend

    Hi,

    the official way to file a bug report against TLP is now mentioned in the documentation: Issue Tracker.

    Anyway, i found your post here. Does the suspend problem occur on ac and battery power or only in one of the cases?

    Please show the complete output of (on battery):
    Code:
    sudo tlp-stat

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •