Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: mount a second drive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    8

    mount a second drive

    I have a remote server with ubuntu 12.04LTS installed and comes with 2*1TB drives, I would like to mount the second drive to /home/files/ so I have access to 2TB read/write but am really confused by all the different posts I have read.
    this is the output of fdisk -l

    Code:
    Welcome to Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS (GNU/Linux 3.8.13-xxxx-grs-ipv6-64 x86_64)
    
    
      System information as of Wed May 22 21:00:53 CEST 2013
    
      System load:    0.09                Processes:           142
      Usage of /home: 10.1% of 896.59GB   Users logged in:     1
      Memory usage:   57%                 IP address for eth0: **.**.**.**
      Swap usage:     0%
    
     
    4 packages can be updated.
    0 updates are security updates.
    
    
    root@server:~# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00030e86
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdb1   *        4096    41947135    20971520   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb2        41947136  1952468991   955260928   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sdb3      1952468992  1953519615      525312   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x0005b3dd
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *        4096    41947135    20971520   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sda2        41947136  1952468991   955260928   fd  Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/sda3      1952468992  1953519615      525312   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Disk /dev/md2: 978.2 GB, 978187124736 bytes
    2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 238815216 cylinders, total 1910521728 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/md2 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    
    Disk /dev/md1: 21.5 GB, 21474770944 bytes
    2 heads, 4 sectors/track, 5242864 cylinders, total 41942912 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/md1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
    and if i do sudo lshw -C disk

    get this output

    Code:
    root@server:~# sudo lshw -C disk
      *-disk
           description: ATA Disk
           product: TOSHIBA DT01ACA1
           vendor: Toshiba
           physical id: 0.0.0
           bus info: scsi@1:0.0.0
           logical name: /dev/sda
           version: MS2O
           serial: 13EJ81XPS
           size: 931GiB (1TB)
           capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
           configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=0005b3dd
      *-disk
           description: ATA Disk
           product: TOSHIBA DT01ACA1
           vendor: Toshiba
           physical id: 0.0.0
           bus info: scsi@4:0.0.0
           logical name: /dev/sdb
           version: MS2O
           serial: 13OX3TKPS
           size: 931GiB (1TB)
           capabilities: partitioned partitioned:dos
           configuration: ansiversion=5 signature=00030e86
    the contents of /etc/fstab are

    Code:
    /dev/md1    /    ext4    errors=remount-ro,relatime    0    1
    /dev/md2    /home    ext4    defaults,relatime    0    2
    /dev/sda3    none    swap    defaults    0    0
    /dev/sdb3    none    swap    defaults    0    0
    proc        /proc    proc    defaults        0    0
    sysfs        /sys    sysfs    defaults        0    0
    devtmpfs    /dev    devtmpfs    rw    0    0
    could some one please tell me how to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    INDY
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: mount a second drive

    I'm no expert on this but it looks to me that you have a mirrored raid set up.
    that is ... sda and sdb are exact copies if each other and done for the sake of redundancy.
    If one drive fails the data is safe on the other.
    How did you set up your drives when you installed?
    Castles Made of Sand,
    Fall in the Sea,
    Eventually!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Albury, NSW, Australia
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mount a second drive

    The official documentation from Canonical is really good. It walks you through everything step-by-step. Also, drives (other than your boot drive) are usually mounted in /media.
    You can set up what is called a 'RAID' which treats multiple drives as if there were one, but in your case you are better off following the instructions below. RAID's usually consists of more than two drives.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingANewHardDrive


    Once you have formatted, partitioned and mounted a drive, the last thing to do is take ownership of it.

    Code:
    cd /media/[name of drive]
    sudo chown [username]:[usergroup] *
    This will give you a whole drive to fill up
    I also make a 'bookmark' in the file manager to make it easy to find in a GUI.

    Be warned. You need to very very careful using chown. Don't make any typo's or it could wreck your whole day.
    Last edited by Albury_Boy; May 23rd, 2013 at 05:20 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Land of fire and drought
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: mount a second drive

    @ Albury_Boy: Nice to see another Australian! I have deleted your first post on this thread as it was exactly the same as the first half of your second post. Cheers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: mount a second drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Albury_Boy View Post
    The official documentation from Canonical is really good. It walks you through everything step-by-step. Also, drives (other than your boot drive) are usually mounted in /media.
    You can set up what is called a 'RAID' which treats multiple drives as if there were one, but in your case you are better off following the instructions below. RAID's usually consists of more than two drives.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingANewHardDrive
    ya, read that one, and thats why I am confused lol, when it came to adding to fstab I looked at the contents of it and see

    /dev/md1 / ext4 errors=remount-ro,relatime 0 1 /dev/md2 /home ext4 defaults,relatime 0 2 /dev/sda3 none swap defaults 0 0 /dev/sdb3 none swap defaults 0 0

    so now not sure what to add here or where....I figured
    /dev/sda3 none swap defaults 0 0
    was first drives partition with useable space and
    /dev/sdb3 none swap defaults 0 0
    was second drives partition with useable space...but where did md1 and md2 come from?
    every post i read just further confuses me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Albury, NSW, Australia
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mount a second drive

    arpanaut said it better. It looks like you have a RAID set up. This is when you have two drives which act like one for the purpose of redundancy. If one fails, the other has a backup.

    What I suggest (if you want access to 2Tb's of data) is to format your second drive and start afresh. Run gparted from your desktop by pressing the 'super' key (aka the Windows key) and typing it in. See if you can determine which is the second drive. I've never used a RAID so I don't really know how it is displayed, but gparted is pretty smart and should show you.

    You may need to format both drives and re-install Ubuntu on the 'primary' drive or what is usually called sda by the system. If you have an external HDD, simply copy the contents of your home directory to it first. You can copy it back over when you are done.

    Let me know how you go

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Albury, NSW, Australia
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mount a second drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    @ Albury_Boy: Nice to see another Australian! I have deleted your first post on this thread as it was exactly the same as the first half of your second post. Cheers.
    Thanks mate . I was editing that post when someone else posted and it split up. I couldn't see a delete tool.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Land of fire and drought
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: mount a second drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Albury_Boy View Post
    I couldn't see a delete tool.
    There isn't one for regular users, but if something screws up, feel free to use the 'Report Post' button on the post and explain. One of the staff will deal with it from there. Use the report for all oddities, not just sinister posts/users.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •