Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    1,111
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Hi,

    I've installed 12.04 i386 and it runs fine on a 'scrap' box that I put together. It runs an Athlon 1.25GHz processor with a nVidia FX5500 agp card and version 173 of the nvidia driver. Memory is 1 GB 133MHz. It plays dvds ok but Quantal jibs if I try and upgrade (hardware too low spec).

    I'm stumped try to get flash player working. All installed on clean hdd using in the release flashplayer installer and all I get is white space where the flash content should be when I run the media. Prior to running I get the still image and big red arrow.

    Any ideas?
    Itch: Think Hula hoop, positive on top, negative on bottom, roll it. Is it a wave or a particle? Is it a photon? Is a photon a dipole? Are we all made of light!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    9,509
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    The minimum cpu requirements have increased greatly for flash and one reason I retired and old computer . http://www.adobe.com/products/flashp...ech-specs.html You could try Lightspark or Gnash but, I don't know if they would work for similar reasons.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    EU - UK
    Beans
    3,261
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Actually Flash now works only on SSE2 capable CPUs.

    Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    moved to multimedia and video

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Beans
    647
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Quote Originally Posted by kostkon View Post
    Actually Flash now works only on SSE2 capable CPUs.

    Hope that helps.
    koston, I think you have finally nailed down the lid on my problem.
    Trying to get flash player latest version to run on my wife's laptop, which has an amd athlon xp1400+ cpu, is apparently going nowhere as it doesn't support SSE2

    Thanks for cutting short my agravation.

    John
    Last edited by grey1beard; June 3rd, 2013 at 09:41 PM.
    It's like doing jigsaw puzzles in the dark.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    If you want flash just for a few popular video sites such as Youtube or Vimeo, you don't need flash really. Install gecko-mediaplayer from the repo, install the greasemonkey addon for Firefox https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir.../greasemonkey/

    Then open firefox and install the script Viewtube. http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/87011

    Now go to a supported site such as Youtube and you will be able to watch the videos and with higher resolution that you would with flash because it is less taxing on your old hardware.
    Last edited by monkeybrain2012; June 3rd, 2013 at 10:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Beans
    647
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Many thanks for the suggestion, monkeybrain2012.

    Our main daily use is for watching video clips on the BBC news pages.
    For longer programmes, we use BBC iplayer for instant viewing, or get-iplayer, and save them for later viewing. (Fairly slow broadband speed here )

    Would your solution be still appropriate ?
    regards,
    John
    It's like doing jigsaw puzzles in the dark.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Unfortunately doesn't work for the bbc.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Beans
    647
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    Ho hum, but thanks.
    It looks like I've got to sort out my old Toshiba for her !

    John
    It's like doing jigsaw puzzles in the dark.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    93

    Re: How do I get flash running on an old pc?

    I got Flash working on 11 year old HP, using flash-aid add-on in firefox. It means using a slightly out-of date version of flash so I installed no-script add-on as well.

    Sorry I don't have time to find the thread now (bit late!) but if you google for downloading old flash files you should find it. Good luck!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •