Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    13

    Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    Ok, so I'm trying to write an sh file as a program. I right clicked on the file, and ticked the box next to "Allow executing file as program", but it still opens with the text editor when I double click on it. I tried restarting my computer, and it still didn't work. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    Make sure in Nautilus-file preferences-behaviour-executable text files the selection is 'Ask each time'. Then open your sh file & choose run.
    Last edited by oldos2er; May 22nd, 2013 at 01:26 AM. Reason: Please use the default font.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    13

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    Quote Originally Posted by Ubutea View Post
    Make sure in Nautilus-file preferences-behaviour-executable text files the selection is 'Ask each time'. Then open your sh file & choose run.
    Seemed promising, but it didn't work :/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    13

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    I can run it by using bash in the terminal, but still can't double click on the file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,129
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    If the script isn't extremely long, you could post it, and those who know what means what could critique it and give pointers on what's right or wrong.

    If you choose to post it, please use the code tags (#).
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,409
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    If you don't tell it to run in a terminal it will run but have no way to show you output. You may already have considered this, of course.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Courtenay, BC, Canada
    Beans
    1,661

    Re: Allow Executing File As Program Won't Work

    make the first line:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •