Thread: Suggest A linux Project

Hybrid View

Beans

Suggest A linux Project

Hi all,

Thanks for stopping by. I am a non-IT graduate, who has started into an IT grad job, which has a lot of focus on Linux. I want to work towards building my knowledge on Linux for professional and personal use. I am currently reading my way through a practical Guide to LInux commands editors and Shell by Mark Sobell and want to supplement this theoretical approach with some practical experience.

Learning Goals:
    -A good fundamental understanding of how the Linux system works (Sys Admin stuff) i.e. editing config files, solving problems, monitoring system health, making changes, installs, optimising my enviroment etc
    -Improving understanding of hardware
    -Improving understanding of Networking/ security

With all this in mind, can anyone suggest a good Linux project for me to undertake to that will be a good learning experience? Step by step instructions and explanations of what I am doing is pretty key.

I have the basics on linux (main commands, using man, main directories, editing text files, redirection, regular expressions and wildcards, permissions). I have these tools but still feel I lack understanding on how to do 'stuff' with them.

Version info:
    $ /usr/bin$ cat /proc/version
    Linux version 3.5.0-23-generic (gcc version 4.6.3 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.6.3-1ubuntu5) ) #35~precise1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jan 25 17:15:33 UTC 2013

Bash Shell

TL;DR: Suggest a project with step by step instructions that will help improve my system administration knowledge of Linux

Thanks guys!!!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Suggest A linux Project

Hay,

I do not really have a "project" for you. But first off. Drop the GUI for as much as possible.

Want to connect to the internet - CLI
    Want to edit a file - CLI
    Want to create a file, copy a file etc - CLI.