Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: running under hyper-v

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,594

    running under hyper-v

    finally have Ubuntu working with > 127 GB worth of storage, now I have it up to 2040 GB. Had to use the old VHD format. Seems to be some problem with VHDX compatibility, hopefully the next version can get around to that.

    my current stack is LAMP, SAMBA and DNS which is pretty standard.

    I have used Webmin is the past, but with Server 2012 I do not need that any more, I can access the console directly via remote desktop securely

    I have some experience PHP and I have some experience with shell scripts

    so how to best run this VM as a ISP where each user's home folder is their web site

    then Apache can grab content from that directory as per the domain in use

    so I guess the ISP needs a database, MySQL seems to still be there


    also how about fixing mysql so its visible as a database to the LAN?

    also running the DNS server to handle domain transfers etc?
    Last edited by Vegan; May 20th, 2013 at 04:42 PM.
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    66

    Re: running under hyper-v

    You should never run so a users home dir is their website. Either use public_html folder in their home folder or create a different directory structure. But /home/username would be extremely insecure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,594

    Re: running under hyper-v

    I was thinking of jailing users as well to their home folders

    all they will get is ftp access
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,594

    Re: running under hyper-v

    another few items come to mind, Red Hat is the only distribution Microsoft likes at the moment. I tried to install some integration components but it choked even with RPM installed.

    I wonder how much work it would be to port to Ubuntu

    Is it possible to disable NUMA easy and also dealing with more and more cores, one issue is using more cores.
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Beans
    2,077
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: running under hyper-v

    You don't need to install the Hyper-V integration components on Ubuntu. They have been built into the the kernel since 12.04. You can verify this by running.

    Code:
    lsmod | grep hv
    With the newer 3.8 kernels, the balloon driver is built in as well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: running under hyper-v

    Wheezy has built in support for Hyper-V too, it seems:

    Code:
    lsmod | grep hv
    hv_utils               12986  0
    hv_storvsc             17423  2
    hv_netvsc              18304  0
    hv_vmbus               32029  4 hv_netvsc,hv_storvsc,hid_hyperv,hv_utils
    scsi_mod              162269  5 libata,sr_mod,sg,hv_storvsc,sd_mod
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,594

    Re: running under hyper-v

    I created a new VM this AM with 13.04 and I now have better support for dynamic memory which is very helpful when the workload exceeds expectations.

    The heartbeat also is working so this leaves only the network which gripes over degraded integration components

    I increased the startup RAM from 512MB to 768MB and the virtual machine seem to boot much faster. The minimum dynamic memory can remain at 512MB and Hyper-V is reallocating memory.
    Last edited by Vegan; May 25th, 2013 at 06:46 PM.
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Beans
    2,077
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: running under hyper-v

    How have you configured the NIC for your VM? Is is a legacy adapter, etc.?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: running under hyper-v

    Quote Originally Posted by rubylaser View Post
    How have you configured the NIC for your VM? Is is a legacy adapter, etc.?
    I can only vouch for Debian as I have installed Squeeze and Wheezy on HyperV.

    Squeeze needed a legacy adapter but Wheezy was fine with a "regular" network adapter.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Victoria, BC Canada
    Beans
    1,594

    Re: running under hyper-v

    I am using the default virtual adapter that all my virtual machines use

    its the only option, as there is only 1 NIC on the host server

    should I adjust the defaults for the virtual machine NIC settings? I thought the defaults in Linux were DHCP and automatic.


    I tried using the shutdown button instead of su shutdown -h 0, that invoked a BUG alert so it seems that 13.04 is not super stable
    SERVER: Azure datacenters, Hyper-V

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •