Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Make root changes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Middle o'nowhere
    Beans
    438
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Talking Make root changes

    I wanted to edit a doc in gedit using the GUI (GNOME files manager) but I could not save because I had no root privileges. In the console I could just sudo or su, but in the GUI what is the proper procedure? log out and come back in as root? there is no "run as root" option in the contextual menu for a temporary fix, so what are my options?

    Thanks
    Last edited by mayagrafix; June 19th, 2013 at 03:37 AM.
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS/OS Type:64-bit/Intel Core i5-2320 CPU @ 3.00GHz × 4

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Make root changes

    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Make root changes

    Quote Originally Posted by mayagrafix View Post
    I wanted to edit a doc in gedit using the GUI (GNOME files manager) but I could not save because I had no root privileges. In the console I could just sudo or su, but in the GUI what is the proper procedure? log out and come back in as root? there is no "run as root" option in the contextual menu for a temporary fix, so what are my options?

    Thanks
    gksudo gedit /file/and/path

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/28430...fault-in-13-04
    Last edited by Elfy; May 18th, 2013 at 08:35 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Middle o'nowhere
    Beans
    438
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Make root changes

    Quote Originally Posted by mayagrafix View Post
    I wanted to edit a doc in gedit using the GUI (GNOME files manager) but I could not save because I had no root privileges. In the console I could just sudo or su, but in the GUI what is the proper procedure? log out and come back in as root? there is no "run as root" option in the contextual menu for a temporary fix, so what are my options?)
    I found this on another thread: sudo nautilus
    It seems to work, I understand it is not recommended to do anything at this level, but is this an answer for my original question?
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS/OS Type:64-bit/Intel Core i5-2320 CPU @ 3.00GHz × 4

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Make root changes

    Quote Originally Posted by mayagrafix View Post
    I found this on another thread: sudo nautilus
    It seems to work, I understand it is not recommended to do anything at this level, but is this an answer for my original question?
    It might work, but gksudo nautilus is better, for the reasons given on the pages already linked to.
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Courtenay, BC, Canada
    Beans
    1,661

    Re: Make root changes

    you don't want to use sudo for graphical applications as it may cause permission problems. if you do use it by mistake, then run the command
    Code:
    sudo chown $USER:$USER $HOME

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    52° N 6° E
    Beans
    2,430
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Make root changes

    Make that last one
    Code:
    sudo chown -R $USER:$USER $HOME

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Courtenay, BC, Canada
    Beans
    1,661

    Re: Make root changes

    Quote Originally Posted by Impavidus View Post
    Make that last one
    Code:
    sudo chown -R $USER:$USER $HOME
    yeah, that one recursive

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •