Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 90

Thread: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    136
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    just answerd to your other post.

    4.0.3 also has FSMO and GC management etc from Samba-tool.

    That's not a version holy war (although I like the term) but by experience up to date products still will show your better how things work (more functions, corrected bugs, etc.. )
    for instance samba-tool got a lot of improvement since 4.0.3 (process subcommand appeared in 4.0.10, domain join MEMBER also is easier than net ads etc...)
    One step further might be one step too far...

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    2

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Hello


    At first: Many thanks for this great tutorial.

    As 4.1 of samba is released is it safe to get the sources and do
    Code:
    ./configure --enable-debug --enable-selftest 
    make 
    make install
    for upgradeing. Or do I need to clean up some things first?

    For the tutorial:
    Is this step needed?
    Code:
    edit file /usr/local/samba/share/setup/krb5.conf
    
    and replace $(REALM) by MYDOMAIN.LAN
    I forgot it when I set up and so far I could not find a problem. could it be that $(REALM) is substituted with the default_realm fomr /etc/krb5.conf?

    Thanks again

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    136
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    you ll have to download 4.1 to another directory like that

    Code:
    git clone -b v4-1-stable git://git.samba.org/samba.git samba41
    then go to that new folder and go

    Code:
    ./configure --enable-debug --enable-selftest 
    make 
    make install


    For the tutorial:
    Is this step needed?
    Code:
    edit file /usr/local/samba/share/setup/krb5.conf

    and replace $(REALM) by MYDOMAIN.LAN

    I forgot it when I set up and so far I could not find a problem. could it be that $(REALM) is substituted with the default_realm fomr /etc/krb5.conf?
    It seems it's not a problem indeed but still I keep on doing it.
    we might need a broader vision to know what service exactly would need this file.
    One step further might be one step too far...

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Hello,

    I followed the tutorial and after a ./configure, make and make install, my server told me "The program 'Samba' is currently not installed You can install it by typing: sudo apt-get install samba4".

    Could someone help me understand why this message is still displayed when the manual install samba 4 went well?

    thank you

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    136
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Yup , untill you append necessary paths to the environnement path configuration file, you need so prefix every single of your commands with /usr/local/samba/bin/ or /usr/local/samba/sbin/ depending on the command you are trying to use.
    Last edited by Toxic64; November 15th, 2013 at 02:54 PM.
    One step further might be one step too far...

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Beans
    2

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Hi

    I found another two "issues" in this tutorial.
    1. i think there is a little typo in this line:
    echo domain MYDOMAIN.LAN >> /etc/resolv.conv
    it must be
    echo domain MYDOMAIN.LAN >> /etc/resolv.conf
    2. I think the mentioned line is not needed. As "/etc/resolv.conf" is recreated by resolvconf everytime the server is restarted it will get deleted. Another point is that as far as I know the "Domain entry" in resolv.conf is deprecated in favour of "search". As we have a "dns-search" entry in "/etc/network/interface" we do not need this one.

    I hope I am not on a wrong way with his.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    136
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    echo domain MYDOMAIN.LAN >> /etc/resolv.conf ...indeed. I just corrected it. thanks.

    . I think the mentioned line is not needed. As "/etc/resolv.conf" is recreated by resolvconf everytime the server is restarted it will get deleted. Another point is that as far as I know the "Domain entry" in resolv.conf is deprecated in favour of "search". As we have a "dns-search" entry in "/etc/network/interface" we do not need this one.
    according to samba wiki, it's required.
    One step further might be one step too far...

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Beans
    7

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Quote Originally Posted by casper4 View Post
    Hi all,

    My setup is the following:

    Proxmox VE 3.1

    VM is:

    OpenVZ ubuntu 12.04.2 64 bit

    Im trying to get samba up and running on this VM and i have tried twice now.

    One problem I have solved is that when ever i try to use smbclient or samba-tool i get a error saying it doesn't know the command. if i do ./smbclient or ./samba-tool it works.. don't know why that is???

    So when i have installed my Samba4 i need to varify everything is working... my problem is when i get to this part:

    Code:
    listing administrative share will show you sysvol, netlogon shares etc....
    
    
    /usr/local/samba/bin/smbclient -L localhost -U%
    
    you should see somethin like this:
    
    
    
    
    Sharename Type Comment 
    --------- ---- ------- 
    netlogon Disk 
    sysvol Disk 
    IPC$ IPC IPC Service (Samba 4.0.5) 
    
    
    
    it means your server is up and running...
    


    I get this errror:

    Code:
    
    
    Code:
    root@DC01:/usr/local/samba/bin# ./smbclient -L localhost -U%
    session setup failed: NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED


    How do i solve this?

    This step also fails:

    Code:
    
    
    Code:
    now you need to check authentication
    
    
    /usr/local/samba/bin/smbclient //localhost/netlogon -UAdministrator%"your_password" -c 'ls'
    
    you should see this:
    
    
    Domain=[MYDOMAIN] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 4.0.5] 
    . D 0 Fri May 17 21:40:08 2013 
    .. D 0 Fri May 17 21:42:36 2013
    


    with the error:

    Code:
    
    
    Code:
    root@DC01:/usr/local/samba/bin# ./smbclient //localhost/netlogon -UAdministrator%"your_password" -c 'ls'
    Connection to localhost failed (Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED)
    How do i fix this????

    THANKS

    Casper
    Hi I had this problem with using the ubuntu desktop and debian desktop distribution. I solved this by using the Ubuntu server.. I know im a complete scrub but the fact that the bidrectional clipboard in virtualbox doesnt seem to work, so i had to type out all the code in the terminal made it extremely tedious..
    Last edited by victor22; February 23rd, 2014 at 09:56 AM.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    2

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    What a great tutorial!
    Your scripts were an excellent starting point, I have upgraded and tweaked them.
    I have them here:Samba4AD.tar.gz for everyone.
    If you have any suggestions I might add them in.
    Tested flawlessly on Ubuntu 12.04.4 LTS x64

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Beans
    136
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: How to install samba 4 as an active directory domain controller

    Nice man.
    Thanks
    One step further might be one step too far...

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •