Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS alongside win7 x64 :(

Beans

Lightbulb Can't install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS alongside win7 x64 :(

Hello everybody, i am a newbie with Linux. I have " Asus R500VD-SX403H ", and i tried to install Ubuntu 12.4 LTS, but i couldn't do that . During the installation i don't have the selection "Install alongside win7 ".Although i have just 2 primary partitions and the others are logical.When i choose " something else "" it just shows me a whole hard disk.
    I have tried many solutions but i cann't install it !!!!!!!

Anyone can help me with that ?????
    Last edited by peshmerge; May 23rd, 2013 at 03:51 PM.

Beans

Re: Can't install Ubuntu 12.04 LTS alongside win7 x64 :(

Best solution would be to create separate partition for the Ubuntu and install. you can make some space with disk shrink option of disk management in windows 7. you will get some unallocated space. create a new partition out of this unallocated space and install in that.

Thanks
    Shivu

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

BEFORE you do that, do yourself a favor and use the Win7 Backup feature to create and burn a Win7 Repair CD. You will need that in order to restore the Win7 boot capability, should that become damaged as a result of your dual-boot installation.
    Ubuntu 16.04 Mate, Mint 17.3; MS Win 8.1, MS Win10 Pro.
    Will not respond to PM requests for support -- use the forums.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Actually you need to create a separate partition for Ubuntu first. To do that, clean up one of your partition's data, then boot ubuntu from USB or CDROM. After this follow the steps mentioned in the link below :
    http://opensource-sidh.blogspot.com/...h-windows.html

Keep in mind that, in the step 3 choose something else and click next. Now you'll see all your partitions, select your desired partition and follow the step 5 and go on.