Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Post Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    I'm at a complete loss AND I have no idea what I'm doing.

    Box and network via ethernet was fine. Moved the box with a new ethernet connection. Network crapped out. Moved box back to original location -- wired network still disconnected.

    Ran a bunch of scripts (see below) -- nothing worked

    Edit connection -- ipv4 -- assigned manual connection, including ip address w/in the range of my router -- appears to connect to network, but cant load any pages; ping 8.8.8.8 = Destination host unreachable

    PLEASE HELP!!!

    Thank you.


    Scripts run:

    _
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    __
    sudo rmmod tg3
    sudo modprobe broadcom
    sudo modprobe tg3

    sudo rm /etc/modprobe.d/tg3.conf
    __
    cat << EOF | sudo tee /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    [main]
    plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

    [ifupdown]
    managed=true
    EOF
    Then reboot.
    __
    sudo rmmod tg3
    sudo modprobe broadcom
    sudo modprobe tg3
    __
    sudo route add default gw 121.165.98.1 eth0
    Last edited by lanenem; May 20th, 2013 at 02:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    After you added the default gateway (whose IP you may wish to mask), what are the results of route -n?
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    What if I just formated the drives, wiped everything, and reloaded the OS?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,587
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by lanenem View Post
    What if I just formated the drives, wiped everything, and reloaded the OS?
    Well, that's the 'ultimate solution' to everything

    But unless you have already done that, may we take a look at outputs of -
    Code:
    nm-tool
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
    Also, why did you need to manually create (recreate) the /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf file? And is there a particular reason why you put "managed=true" there?
    Usually it is "managed=false", although it shouldn't matter if NetworkManager is the only one controlling your network interface.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by varunendra View Post
    Also, why did you need to manually create (recreate) the /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf file? And is there a particular reason why you put "managed=true" there?
    Usually it is "managed=false", although it shouldn't matter if NetworkManager is the only one controlling your network interface.
    Ultimately, I just copied and pasted every line of code others suggested who had similar problems (which is a PITA when I copy to a flash drive on one comp and then move it to my ubuntu box and paste). I don't have a specific understanding of why false to true.

    But, tx for the suggestion. I'll copy and paste that ASAP.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    result 1:

    NetworkManager Tool

    State: connected (global)

    - Device: eth0 [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
    Type: Wired
    Driver: r8169
    State: connected
    Default: yes
    HW Address: _

    Capabilities:
    Carrier Detect: yes
    Speed: 1000 Mb/s

    Wired Properties
    Carrier: on

    IPv4 Settings:
    Address: 192.168.1.88
    Prefix: 24 (255.255.255.0)
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    DNS: 192.168.1.1


    _-server:~$
    _-server:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    _-server:~$
    _-server:~$ cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

    [main]

    plugins=ifupdown,keyfile



    [ifupdown]

    managed=true

    _-server:~$
    _-server:~$ cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state

    [main]
    NetworkingEnabled=true
    WirelessEnabled=true
    WWANEnabled=true
    WimaxEnabled=true

    --
    result 2:

    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 eth0
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 1 0 0 eth0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    7,587
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by lanenem View Post
    - Device: eth0 [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
    Type: Wired
    Driver: r8169
    State: connected
    Default: yes
    HW Address: _

    Capabilities:
    Carrier Detect: yes
    Speed: 1000 Mb/s

    Wired Properties
    Carrier: on

    IPv4 Settings:
    Address: 192.168.1.88
    Prefix: 24 (255.255.255.0)
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    DNS: 192.168.1.1

    ..
    ..
    _-server:~$ cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    ..
    [ifupdown]

    managed=true
    Everything looks good above, although the "managed=true" should by default be "managed=false", but since your /etc/network/interfaces file is not managing the ethernet interface, it doesn't matter.

    Now can you ping your gateway?
    Code:
    ping -c4 192.168.1.1
    Also, make sure the IP is not conflicting with any other machines on the network. Just change it if not sure.

    And what do you mean when you say you moved it to a different location? Was it a different network or a different ethernet card or just a different location on the same network (connected to same router)?

    Sometimes, the firmware of the router/NIC just gets confused, sometimes there are other logical issues like DHCP pool getting full, or IP conflict, etc. In most of such cases, it is usually sufficient to just reboot both the computer and the router (better keep them power off for two or more minutes).

    If these don't help, please also post what praseodym asked above your post. The outputs of first three commands may be interesting.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    srry the format is hosed -- im opening to notepad

    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 eth0
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 1 0 0 eth0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,402
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    Please show the outputs of:
    Code:
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    lsmod
    ifconfig -a
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    route -n

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Beans
    11
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Cant connect to wired network (ARGH!!!); 12.04

    I moved it to another location on the same network. Same router (actually tried directly into the router via tested/good cat6 patch).

    Network says connected, but cant reach anything.

    Here are the results:

    ping -c4 192.168.1.1

    result:

    From 192.168.1.88 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
    ___
    nm-tool
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
    cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state

    result:

    $ nm-tool

    NetworkManager Tool

    State: connected (global)

    - Device: eth0 [Wired connection 1] -------------------------------------------
    Type: Wired
    Driver: r8169
    State: connected
    Default: yes
    HW Address: 00:30:67:CD:17:0C

    Capabilities:
    Carrier Detect: yes
    Speed: 1000 Mb/s

    Wired Properties
    Carrier: on

    IPv4 Settings:
    Address: 192.168.1.88
    Prefix: 24 (255.255.255.0)
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    DNS: 192.168.1.1


    -server:~$
    server:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    -server:~$
    -server:~$ cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

    [main]

    plugins=ifupdown,keyfile



    [ifupdown]

    managed=true

    -server:~$
    -server:~$ cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.sta


    ____
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    lsmod
    ifconfig -a
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    route -n

    result:

    ane@__-server:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller [10ec:8168] (rev 06)
    Subsystem: Biostar Microtech Int'l Corp Device [1565:230a]
    Kernel driver in use: r8169
    -server:~$
    -server:~$ lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    nls_iso8859_1 12713 1
    nls_cp437 16991 1
    vfat 17585 1
    fat 61512 1 vfat
    usb_storage 49198 1
    snd_hda_codec_hdmi 32474 1
    snd_hda_codec_realtek 224173 1
    rfcomm 47604 0
    bnep 18281 2
    parport_pc 32866 0
    bluetooth 180153 10 rfcomm,bnep
    ppdev 17113 0
    snd_hda_intel 33719 3
    snd_hda_codec 127706 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_i ntel
    snd_hwdep 17764 1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm 97275 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_seq_midi 13324 0
    snd_rawmidi 30748 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq_midi_event 14899 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq 61929 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_timer 29990 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device 14540 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    i915 477763 3
    drm_kms_helper 46978 1 i915
    drm 241971 4 i915,drm_kms_helper
    i2c_algo_bit 13423 1 i915
    video 19651 1 i915
    mei 41616 0
    serio_raw 13211 0
    snd 79041 16 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_i ntel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,s nd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    lp 17799 0
    soundcore 15091 1 snd
    snd_page_alloc 18529 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    mac_hid 13253 0
    parport 46562 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
    usbhid 47238 0
    hid 99636 1 usbhid
    r8169 62154 0
    -server:~$
    -server:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr **:17:0c
    inet addr:192.168.1.88 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: ** Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:6999 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:570673 (570.6 KB)
    Interrupt:48 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:12715 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:12715 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1634212 (1.6 MB) TX bytes:1634212 (1.6 MB)

    -server:~$
    -server:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
    nameserver 192.168.1.1

    ###

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •