Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    3

    Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    I first noticed a problem when I tried to go to ebay. I got a message "Firefox cant establish a connection to the server at feedhome.vip:8080" So as I read around I learned this sort of behavior can be a virus . So I tried to install clamav "$sudo apt-get install clamav clamtk" response "Could not open lock file /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (13: Permission denied)" "Unable to unlock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), are you root?" So then I tried the ubuntu software center. I found clamav, clicked install, entered my password, and then got the message "failure to download package" Or something like that. So, now what? I typed this on my ps3, btw. sucked

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    uk
    Beans
    9,374
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    Thread moved to Security Discussions.
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

    Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    So, to continue updating, I opened the terminal in safe mode. From there I was able to install clamav. Then I went back into the computer and updated the virus definition files with freshclam. I scanned every file on the computer. $ sudo clamscan -r --bell -i / At the end, it said it detected no viruses, but quite a few errors. Here is the output.

    ----------- SCAN SUMMARY -----------
    Known viruses: 2287386
    Engine version: 0.97.8
    Scanned directories: 39095
    Scanned files: 170079
    Infected files: 0
    Total errors: 13628
    Data scanned: 13488.74 MB
    Data read: 60204.58 MB (ratio 0.22:1)
    Time: 4661.738 sec (77 m 41 s)

    Is it possible to give me the symptoms previously mentioned, and have no viruses? In other words, is clamav any good? Can I trust it? Could a virus somehow fool it? If so, how would I know? Again, any help would be great.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Beans
    3,153
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    Welcome to the forum, suckerpunch5.

    The server was likely down at the time you tried to connect.

    The reason you got the install error, is because clamav, and clamtk are two seperate programs.

    Code:
     "$sudo apt-get install clamav clamtk"
    Clamav searches for windows malware, so if it says 0 viruses found, that is good.
    I learn something ubuntu everyday.
    dell precision T7500 1Tb hdd x 2
    2.67 Ghz intel xeon X5550 cpu
    nvidia quadro fx 4800-1.5 Gb video card

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    Following up once more, I think I resolved my Firefox problem. I went back and cleared all my cookies, basically everything I could delete about history, and now it connects to ebay fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Starfleet, Nth Essex, UK
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    Yes, it's unlikely you had an infection. In 8 years of using Linux Ubuntu, I've yet to come across a virus or malware infection that can infect it. And I go where Windows users fear to tread looking for problem websites and web based infections as part of my job! I run a small network with Linux and have also installed it on too many computers to remember and security in Linux is just sublime compared to what Windows users have to put up with. Once you get used to it, you'll trust it. But be aware there are some scripts that can still affect your browser when on line, although it's still really hard for someone to infect you in that way. So take all the usual security measures that you would take if you were running Windows. 'No-scripts' is a good precaution in firefox. Using that you are really very safe compared to Windows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    Hi,

    I have the same problem. but nothing above worked for my computer.
    Ive tried installing clamav from safe mode but it fails. this message appears

    W: not using locking for read only lock file /var/lib.dpkg/lock
    E: unable to write to /var/cache/apt/
    E:The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened



    what does that mean? Please help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    im running ubuntu 12.04 64-bit.
    i dont think i have any kind of java block, because i didnt realise i needed one. Yes, im a noob.

    thanks adam

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    I do have dual boot windows and ubuntu. however, i do not have windows connected to the net and have not used it for weeks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Do I have a virus ? Please help a noob!

    As far as i can tell, their is no advise on the net that can help me, or i their is i cant/understand it.
    I have the Ukash malware bug.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •