Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43

Thread: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    6,084
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Try also: Pressing Fn+F5 permanently during boot-up or pressing repeatedly during boot-up. Also the switch itself.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    same results

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    6,084
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Try a boot-parameter like "acpi=off"

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    with acpi=off the portable fails to boot (an error in identifying the SSD) and ends up in initramfs busybox

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    BTW it fails to HALT every time (reboot is fine...)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Please remove the blacklist of acer-wmi. Next, do:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/rc.local
    Right above exit 0 add three lines:
    Code:
    rfkill unblock wifi
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe -r acer-wmi
    Proofread carefully, save and close gedit. Reboot. Then show us:
    Code:
    rfkill list all


    -------
    Reference: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1850027&page=2
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Code:
    root@ultra:~# uptime
     15:40:02 up 0 min,  2 users,  load average: 0,71, 0,17, 0,06
    
    root@ultra:~# cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf | grep acer
    #blacklist acer_wmi
    
    root@ultra:~# cat /etc/rc
    rc0.d/    rc2.d/    rc4.d/    rc6.d/    rcS.d/    
    rc1.d/    rc3.d/    rc5.d/    rc.local  
    root@ultra:~# cat /etc/rc.local 
    #!/bin/sh -e
    #
    # rc.local
    #
    # This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
    # Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
    # value on error.
    #
    # In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
    # bits.
    #
    # By default this script does nothing.
    
    rfkill unblock wifi
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe -r acer_wmi
    
    exit 0
    
    root@ultra:~# rfkill list all
    0: hci0: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
    1: ideapad_bluetooth: Bluetooth
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
    2: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: yes
    Thanks but same problem (in fact I've already tried what was in that thread)

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    6,084
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Please try this one in the /etc/rc.local:
    Code:
    modprobe -r ath9k
    modprobe -r acer-wmi
    rfkill unblock wifi
    rfkill unblock all
    modprobe ath9k
    Please not the module name is acer-wmi not acer_wmi

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    21,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    Please not the module name is acer-wmi not acer_wmi
    In this context, the names are equivalent.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    35

    Re: 13.04 / Lenovo S205 / WIFI / Atheros / Ath9k

    still hard blocked... (also i've made the modprobe on both acer_wmi and acer-wmi to be sure).

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •