Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    7

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    Oh, and I'm actually able to ping my other machine on network (192.168.0.100) but not router.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    1,219

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    Well, check firewall settings on the router. If they're OK, you should file a bug report.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,696
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    Quote Originally Posted by andyyy57 View Post
    Oh, and I'm actually able to ping my other machine on network (192.168.0.100) but not router.
    That's a little bit of a relief.

    As prodigy_ mentioned it, check your router for settings that may restrict that machines access. For instance, DHCP reservations, MAC filtering, Parental control, Access Blocking Policy, etc.

    Regards.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    7

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    I did something different now, I checked if there is any new firmware for my router and there were a couple! I installed the latest on my router and now everything works perfectly!

    Sorry for wasting your time guys

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,696
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    Glad you sorted it out.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Wireless connects, assigns IP, but nothing works (not even ping to router)

    Quote Originally Posted by andyyy57 View Post
    I did something different now, I checked if there is any new firmware for my router and there were a couple! I installed the latest on my router and now everything works perfectly!

    Sorry for wasting your time guys
    Router firmwares need to be patched every 6 months or so. I find it is easier to keep up with releases for the replacement firmwares from dd-wrt, openwrt, tomato ... assuming you don't deploy a business-class system like pfSense with much more powerful controls.

    If it has software, it needs to be patched.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •