Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47

Thread: seeking advice on web hosting company

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    1,757

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by sandyd View Post
    Not familiar with GoDaddy but you need to create a DNS record (A/CNAME) to point the subdomain towards the server.
    I have 5 domains setup/running on Godaddy.

    On Zone File Editor;
    All of them point to the same IP address at A (Host)

    On the local copy of MediaWiki, on browser running;
    Code:
    http://localhost/mediawiki/
    it popup;
    Code:
    http://localhost/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
    displaying the Main Page of MediaWiki

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    1,757

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    +1. If you want to test it before messing with DNS, you can add an entry to your hosts file:

    /etc/hosts
    c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    Sorry I don't follow. The local copy of MediaWiki is running on Ubuntu 12.04. Godaddy's is supposed running on Linux

    satimis

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Storybrooke
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by satimis View Post
    I have 5 domains setup/running on Godaddy.

    On Zone File Editor;
    All of them point to the same IP address at A (Host)

    On the local copy of MediaWiki, on browser running;
    Code:
    http://localhost/mediawiki/
    it popup;
    Code:
    http://localhost/mediawiki/index.php/Main_Page
    displaying the Main Page of MediaWiki
    Code:
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$ dig @ns31.domaincontrol.com wiki.satimis.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.2-P1 <<>> @ns31.domaincontrol.com wiki.satimis.com
    ; (2 servers found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 42938
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    ;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;wiki.satimis.com.              IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    satimis.com.            3600    IN      SOA     ns31.domaincontrol.com. dns.jomax.net. 2013051002 28800 7200 604800 600
    
    ;; Query time: 93 msec
    ;; SERVER: 216.69.185.16#53(216.69.185.16)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 10 13:34:00 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 113
    I dont know what godaddy is doing, but im pretty sure their not doing it right.
    Code:
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$ dig @8.8.8.8 wiki.satimis.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.2-P1 <<>> @8.8.8.8 wiki.satimis.com
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 12052
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 512
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;wiki.satimis.com.              IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    satimis.com.            1795    IN      SOA     ns31.domaincontrol.com. dns.jomax.net. 2013051002 28800 7200 604800 600
    
    ;; Query time: 108 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 10 13:33:02 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 113
    
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$
    Ubuntu Forums Moderation Staff
    The best people in life are free - T.S.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,867
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by satimis View Post
    [...] any other suggestions? TIA
    Well... I'll try to keep it short.

    I've been on the web, since the last century... and ran a BBS for years before that, before Al Gore invented the Internet.

    I won't bore you with all the hardware/software combinations that I've used. Suffice to say, I've been around the track a few times.

    I cannot run my sites on conventional web hosting. I typically get 100K page views on my production web site (give_or_take) and the combined traffic has brought down every shared server I've been on. Plus, I don't run canned software. I've had to hack everything, to keep the perps at bay, so I need unrestricted freedom to change the core files, as necessary.

    Having said that, the only place I've found that can handle it all -- from lowly shared hosting, to fully-managed dedicated web servers, is JaguarPC. That's my highly considered recommendation.

    I'm about halfway up the food chain -- with room to expand: http://www.jaguarpc.com/hybrid-server/

    Been working great, for the past couple of years. And, when I start killing that server, I won't need to change hosts. I'll just need to upgrade the level of service -- dedi or colo, probably.

    Oh, BTW, MediaWiki is powering one of my sites. MediaWiki doesn't work all that great without Squish, but it's fast enough for serving pics. That's all I use MediaWiki for nowadays -- serving screen shots. LoL!

    Wikis are a PITA! You need to watch, like a hawk, or the pron bots will take control of your site. I got tired of spending all my time dialing it back. So, I locked it down, and use it for a pic server.

    Here's a demo:




    Overkill, using MediaWiki for this, but it works, so...

    Okay, I'll quit now. JagPC for the win!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,867
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by d4m1r View Post
    No such thing as unlimited bandwidth, storage, etc. All servers including those run by the big guys have limitations.
    True!

    One of the many, many, ways 'they' get you is by limiting inodes to 100K (give_or_take)

    Read 'em & weep: https://startpage.com/do/search?query=inode+limit

    I can get by with 400K inodes, but a million is better!

    That's what JagPC support gave me. And, they said, if/when that isn't enough, let them know.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,867
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by satimis View Post
    I have my own server here running on virtualizer. I'm subscribing Static/Fixed IP at 6M/6M up/down. It would be quite easy for me operating my own server at home.
    I don't know about your ISP, but...

    My ISP considers that an unauthorized redistribution of their bandwidth and services. And, they'll red-flag your account, in a heartbeat, if they catch you.

    Around here, if you want to run servers in your home, you are expected to get a business account.

    Just saying...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by satimis View Post
    Sorry I don't follow. The local copy of MediaWiki is running on Ubuntu 12.04. Godaddy's is supposed running on Linux

    satimis
    If you want to test the remote site before messing with the DNS entries, you can add an entry to either your hosts file or your local dns and test it that way.

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    I don't know about your ISP, but...

    My ISP considers that an unauthorized redistribution of their bandwidth and services. And, they'll red-flag your account, in a heartbeat, if they catch you.

    Around here, if you want to run servers in your home, you are expected to get a business account.

    Just saying...
    Same thing happens here and they block port 25 and 80 because of it.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    1,757

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by sandyd View Post
    Code:
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$ dig @ns31.domaincontrol.com wiki.satimis.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.2-P1 <<>> @ns31.domaincontrol.com wiki.satimis.com
    ; (2 servers found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 42938
    ;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    ;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;wiki.satimis.com.              IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    satimis.com.            3600    IN      SOA     ns31.domaincontrol.com. dns.jomax.net. 2013051002 28800 7200 604800 600
    
    ;; Query time: 93 msec
    ;; SERVER: 216.69.185.16#53(216.69.185.16)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 10 13:34:00 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 113
    I dont know what godaddy is doing, but im pretty sure their not doing it right.
    Code:
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$ dig @8.8.8.8 wiki.satimis.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.2-P1 <<>> @8.8.8.8 wiki.satimis.com
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 12052
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 512
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;wiki.satimis.com.              IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    satimis.com.            1795    IN      SOA     ns31.domaincontrol.com. dns.jomax.net. 2013051002 28800 7200 604800 600
    
    ;; Query time: 108 msec
    ;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
    ;; WHEN: Fri May 10 13:33:02 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 113
    
    sandyd@sandyd-devel:~$
    I have 5 domains setup/running on Godaddy;

    reynoldstocks.com (WordPress(WP) installed)
    wiki.reynoldstocks.com (MediaWiki installed)
    satimis.com (WP installed)
    food.satimis.com (WP installed)
    wiki.satimis.com (MediaWiki installed)

    (no website has been built yet)

    I can browse;
    reynoldstocks.com
    satimis.com
    food.satimis.com

    but can't ping them on terminal. I can ping their IP address (all same address on Godaddy website)

    (remark:
    several years ago. I set up a server box running Oracle VirtualBox/KVM as virtualizer. All web/mail servers pointed to different internal IP but used same(one) public IP. I made it work. It is not easy. I suppose Godaddy is doing the same arrangement)

    To login WP I have to run on browser;
    reynoldstocks.com/wordpress/wp-admin
    satimis.com/WPSat/wp-admin
    food.satimis.com/WPFood/wp-admin

    but I can't ping them on terminal, unknown host.
    reynoldstocks.com
    satimis.com
    food.satimis.com

    12 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss

    MediaWiki has been installed on;
    wiki.reynoldstocks.com
    wiki.satimis.com

    Godaddy notified me on email;
    1)
    wiki.reynoldstocks.com
    MediaWiki is ready.
    MediaWiki 1.20.4 is installed and ready for your personal touch.
    IMPORTANT INFO
    MediaWiki login:
    Code:
    http://wiki.reynoldstocks.com/
    Hosting account:
    Log in

    2)
    MediaWiki is ready.
    MediaWiki 1.20.4 is installed and ready for your personal touch.
    IMPORTANT INFO
    MediaWiki login:
    Code:
    http://wiki.satimis.com/mwsat/
    Hosting account:
    Log in

    But I can't browse them. Server not found

    On terminal I can ping;
    yahoo.com
    google.com

    without problem. I'm now contacting Godaddy.

    satimis

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    1,757

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    If you want to test the remote site before messing with the DNS entries, you can add an entry to either your hosts file or your local dns and test it that way.

    - snip -
    I got it. Thanks

    satimis

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: seeking advice on web hosting company

    FYI, MediaWiki 1.20.5 was released a couple weeks ago.

    I checked my site and it looks way different from the way Godaddy has your DNS set up, but if it works, it works.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •