Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Team Fortress 2 (?)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    12

    Team Fortress 2 (?)

    Hello everyone, So a couple of day's ago (Yesterday actually) I was having some trouble with my computer (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2141864) but I managed to fix that. Now I'm trying to run Team Fortress 2 but I can't because the graphics are messed up and the game crashes when it hits the Source engine screen (before the first loading screen).

    How do I know that there's a loading screen after the Source engine screen? Well, before Steam asked me to "update my drivers" I could reach that loading screen. Only it never got past it... And the graphics weren't that messed up (Only the first two screens (Valve screen and Source screen) were green).

    I looked at the system requirements for that game and apparently my laptop should be able to handle it (I think):

    Specs (Acer Aspire 5315) :


    • Intel Celeron processor 540 (1.86 GHz, 533 MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache)
    • Up to 252MB Mobile Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X3100
    • 1GB DDR2
    • 15.4" WXGA Acer CrystalBrite LCD (8ms/220 nit)
    • 80GB HDD (though I also have a 500GB external HDD)
    • DVD/CD-RW combo
    • 802.11b/g WLAN


    Specs (Team Fortress 2)

    http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...20Fortress%202

    Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong?

    Thank you

    Edit: Almost forgot, Steam told me to update with these drivers:

    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...5452-IOSM-1474
    Last edited by oO Flowzilla Oo; May 5th, 2013 at 07:07 PM. Reason: Grammatical errors

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    5

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    Interesting... I had a problem with TF2 as well, but for me I was able to play the game, just with severe graphics malfunctions (polygons would overlap, half the screen looked like dead pixels).
    In my case, it was problems with the graphics card/ proprietary drivers...
    It may help you to try these steps.
    Sorry I can't be of more help!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    5

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    Also, even if the graphics don't look messed up it may still be a problem with the drivers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    I see. I guess I'll try that. Thank you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    I'm confused, it says that the drivers are for GPU's from AMD. Isn't mine from Intel, making it incompatible? Or are the drivers "universal" or something like that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    251
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    You definitely need the Intel GPU drivers. That being said, even with those drivers, performance will be poor with that card.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: Team Fortress 2 (?)

    Yeah, I should probably just delete it off my hard drive. I already went to the bottom of Google in hope of finding an answer and have yet to find it. Oh well, thanks anyways.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •